Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Languages

Fin de la sección de idiomas

Search

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

You are in:

  1. Communication

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards

05/23/2018

Philip Roth, Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, has died

He received the Award in 2012 for his “complex view of contemporary reality torn between reason and feeling, such as the sign of the times and the sense of unease about the present”.

©FPA

Philip Roth, 2012 Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, has died.

As stated in the Minutes of the Jury, he was granted the Award because his narrative work “forms part of the great American novel, in the tradition of Dos Passos, Scott Fitzgerald, Hemingway, Faulkner, Bellow and Malamud. Characters, events and plots form a complex view of contemporary reality torn between reason and feeling, such as the sign of the times and the sense of unease about the present. His literary quality is displayed in his fluid, incisive writing.”

The Jury for this Award –convened by the Prince of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by José Manuel Blecua Perdices and composed of Luis María Anson Oliart, J. J. Armas Marcelo, Xuan Bello Fernández, Blanca Berasátegui Garaizábal, Amelia Castilla Alcolado, Juan Cruz Ruiz, José Luis García Martín, Álex Grijelmo García, Manuel Llorente Manchado, Rosa Navarro Durán, Soledad Puértolas Villanueva, Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente, Fernando Sánchez Dragó, Diana Sorensen, Sergio Vila-Sanjuan Robert and Román Suárez Blanco, acting as secretary.

The Awards Ceremony, which took place on 26th October, was presided over by HM King Felipe VI, then Prince of Asturias. Besides the address by His Majesty, the speeches at the ceremony were given by Rafael Moneo, Martha C. Nussbaum, the President of the International Committee of the Red Cross, Peter Maurer, the President of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, Tadateru Konoé, and the President of the Foundation, Matías Rodríguez Inciarte. Philip Roth’s speech was read by the then US Ambassador to Spain, Alan D. Solomont.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades