Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

You are in:

  1. Communication

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities

18 nominations from 11 different countries are in the running for this award, the third of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their thirty-third year.

Jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities. ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities, the third of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 22nd and 23rd. The awards will be bestowed this year for the thirty-third time in their history.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities shall be conferred on those “whose creative and investigative work in any type of humanistic activity or in any activity related to social communication, within the framework of the sciences and disciplines that both fields of activity encompass, represents an outstanding contribution to universal culture”.

There are 18 nominations in the running for this Award from Argentina, Bosnia, France, Germany, Israel, Mexico, Poland, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States and Spain.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Juan Antonio Álvarez Gundín
  • Juan Barja
  • Adela Cortina Orts
  • José Manuel Diego Carcedo
  • Albert Espinosa i Puig
  • Víctor García de la Concha
  • Javier Garciadiego Dantán
  • Javier González Ferrari
  • Miguel Ángel Liso Tejada
  • Benigno García Pendás
  • José Antonio Vera Gil
  • Enrique de Ybarra e Ybarra
  • Ramón López Vilas (acting secretary)

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon on Wednesday 22nd in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The Jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon on Thursday 23rd in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es



  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11582.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9


  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498



  • The Foundation's official account: @fpa_es
  • Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards



Links for live streaming of the announcement of the jury's decision.

APPENDIX.-Previous award-winners 



1981 - María Zambrano

1982 - Mario Bunge

1983 - El País daily newspaper

1984 - Claudio Sánchez Albornoz

1985 - José Ferrater Mora

1986 - Grupo de Comunicación "Globo"

1987 - El Espectador and El Tiempo newspapers

1988 - Horacio Sáenz Guerrero

1989 - Pedro Laín Entralgo Economic Culture Fund

1990 - José Simeón Cañas Central American University

1991 - Luis María Anson

1992 - Emilio García Gómez

1993 - Vuelta Review

1994 - Spanish Missions in Rwanda and Burundi

1995 - EFE Agency and José Luis López Aranguren

1996 -  Indro Montanelli and Julián Marías Aguilera

1997 - Václav Havel and Cable News Network (CNN)

1998 - Reinhard Mohn

1999 - Caro y Cuervo Institute

2000 - Umberto Eco

2001 - George Steiner

2002 - Hans Magnus Enzensberger

2003 - Ryszard Kapuściński and Gustavo Gutiérrez Merino

2004 - Jean Daniel

2005 - Europe's Major Cultural Institutes: Alliance Française, Società Dante Alighieri, British Council, Goethe-Institut, Instituto Cervantes and Instituto Camões

2006 - National Geographic Society

2007- Magazines Science and Nature

2008 - Google

2009 - The National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM)

2010 - Alain Touraine and Zygmunt Bauman

2011 - The Royal Society

2012 - Shigeru Miyamoto

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades