Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

You are in:

  1. Communication

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Reinhold Messner and Krzysztof Wielicki, Princess of Asturias Award for Sports

Mountaineers Reinhold Messner (Italy) and Krzysztof Wielicki (Poland) have been granted the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, as announced today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award 


Mountaineers Reinhold Messner (Italy) and Krzysztof Wielicki (Poland) have been granted the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, as announced today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.

The Jury for the Award –convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by Abel Antón Rodrigo and composed of Alberto Borregán Rodríguez, Vicente del Bosque González, marqués de Del Bosque, Emilio Butragueño Santos, Marisol Casado Estupiñán, Cristina Cubero Alcalde, Isabel Fernández Gutiérrez, Joaquín Folch-Rusiñol Corachán, Ernest Folch i Folch, Andrea Fuentes Faché, Patricia García Rodríguez, Joan Llaneras Roselló, Edurne Pasabán Lizarribar, Alfredo Relaño Estapé, Juan Antonio Samaranch Salisachs, Theresa Zabell Lucas and Julián Redondo Pérez (as acting secretary).

This candidature was put forward by Pedro Miguel Echenique Landiríbar, 1998 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, and was endorsed by the Polish Institute of Culture.

Via their sporting careers, Reinhold Messner and Krzysztof Wielicki embody the essence of mountaineering, a sport in which both, through their numerous expeditions to the Himalayas, have accomplished great feats and have marked new milestones, becoming an example and inspiration for new generations of climbers.

Reinhold Messner (Funes, Bolzano, Italy, 17th September 1944), with his ascent to Lhotse in 1986, became the first man to conquer the 14 summits of more than eight thousand metres that exist on the planet. His first eight-thousander was Nanga Parbat in 1970 (which he ascended again in 1978). This was followed by Manaslu (1972), Hidden Peak/Gasherbrum I (1975 and 1984), Everest (without oxygen in 1978 and solo in 1980), K-2 (without oxygen, 1979), Sishapangma (1981), Kangchenjunga (1982), Gasherbrum II (1982 and 1984), Broad Peak (1982), Cho Oyu (1983), Annapurna (1985), Dhaulagiri (1985) and Makalu (1986), until he crowned Lhotse that same year, thereby conquering his fourteenth eight-thousander. He was commissioned to take one of the first photographs of the mummy known as “the Iceman”, found in a Similaun snowdrift, in the border area between Italy and Austria in 1991. Messner has also crossed Antarctica (1991-1992), the Taklamakan Desert in Bhutan, Greenland (1993) and the Gobi Desert (2004).

Between 1999 and 2004, he was a Member of the European Parliament for The Greens. He has written some fifty books, translated into a dozen languages, and participates in the making of documentaries. He was the founder of Mountain Wilderness, an NGO dedicated to the conservation of natural areas and, through the Messner Mountain Foundation, helps the inhabitants of mountainous areas around the world. He has also launched the Messner Mountain Museum, a project he has called his “fifteenth eight-thousander”, dedicated to the history of mountaineering. Headquartered in Bozen, in the Italian Tyrol, it has five other branches in the region.

Krzysztof Wielicki (Szklarka Przygodzicka, Poland, 1950) first took up mountaineering at 14 years of age in the Tatra Mountains, in his native Poland. Acknowledged as one of the most outstanding mountain climbers in the world and a symbol of Polish mountaineering, Wielicki’s name is associated in the world of mountaineering with historical milestones such as having been the fifth man in the world to have conquered the planet’s 14 eight-thousanders and to having made the first ascents in winter to the summits of three mountains of over eight thousand metres in height: in 1980, he ascended to Mount Everest (8848 m), along with Leszek Cichy; to Kangchenjunga (8586 m) in 1986, along with Jerzy Kukuczka; and Lhotse (8516 m) solo in 1988. In 2018, he organized and led the expedition to K2 (8611 m), the only eight-thousander still to be conquered in winter, although the climb had to be suspended due to bad weather. During this attempt, Wielicki’s expedition featured in one of the so-called “Himalayan feats” in which solidarity and camaraderie emerge as the mainstays of this sport: the operation on Nanga Parbat to rescue Elisabeth Revol, whom they managed to save, and Tomek Mackiewicz, for whom they could do nothing. In 1984, Wielicki made the first ascent in a single day to an eight-thousander, crowning Broad Peak, and that same year opened up a new route to climb Manaslu. In 1993, he ascended Shisha Pangma solo via a new route.

In addition to his achievements as a climber, his sports colleagues highlight his values as a human being, his companionship and his leadership skills when faced with challenges in the mountains. At almost 70 years of age, Wielicki dedicates a large part of his time to spreading the values of mountaineering and to advising practitioners of this sport on techniques and strategies to follow in the mountains. He is the author or co-author of several books. He is a member of The Explorers Club, an international company based in New York founded in 1904 with the aim of promoting exploration and field research, and was awarded the Lowell Thomas Prize in 2006.

This year, a total of twenty-one candidatures, from twelve different countries, were put forward for the award.

This is the fourth of eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, now in their thirty-eighth edition. The Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts went to American filmmaker Martin Scorsese, the Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities went to Mexican journalist Alma Estela Guillermo Prieto and the Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation was granted to Amref (African Medical and Research Foundation) Health Africa (Global) and Amref Salud África (Spain).

The remaining awards will be announced in the coming weeks in the following order: Literature, Social Sciences, Technical and Scientific Research and Concord.

Each of the Princess of Asturias Awards comprises a Joan Miró sculpture – representing and symbolizing the Awards–, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia. The awards will be presented in the autumn in Oviedo at a solemn ceremony chaired by TM the King and Queen of Spain.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades