Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas


Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Álvaro Mutis

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1997

Assembled together in Oviedo, the 1997 Prince of Asturias Award Jury for Letters, comprised of Rafael Alvarado Ballester, Andrés Amorós, Luis María Anson, Felipe Benítez Reyes, Pedro Casals, Juan Luis Cebrián, Antonio Colinas, Víctor García de la Concha, Alfonso de la Serna, presided over by Fernando Lázaro Carreter and with José María Martínez Cachero acting as secretary, has decided, by a majority, to grant the 1997 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters to the Colombian writer Álvaro Mutis for the originality and intellectual commitment of his poetic and narrative work in which the personage of Maqroll el Gaviero figures prominently throughout the greater part of its pages.

His literary creation, unanimously recognized as one of the Spanish-speaking world´s highest achievements, links the tenets of Magic Realism with the concerns of modern man.

Oviedo, 25 April 1997.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades