Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas


Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Spain’s National Basketball Team

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports 2006

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2006 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports, made up of Mr. Alejandro Blanco Bravo, Mr. José María Casanovas, Ms. María Escario, Mr. Julián García Candau, Mr. Daniel Gutiérrez Granda, Mr. Luis Infante, Ms. María del Carmen Izquierdo, Mr. Jaime Lissavetzky Díez, Mr. Javier Muñoz Gallego, Mr. Santiago Nolla Zayas, Mr. Rafael Pascual, Mr. Matías Prats, Mr. Nemesio Rodríguez López, Mr. Juan Antonio Samaranch Salisachs, Ms. Arancha Sánchez Vicario, Mr. José Javier Santos, Mr. Alejandro Sopeña, Mr. Josep Lluis Vilaseca i Guasch, Ms. Emma Villacieros, chaired by Mr. Juan Antonio Samaranch, marquis of Samaranch, and with Mr. Ignacio Martínez as secretary, has decided to bestow the 2006 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports on Spain´s National Basketball Team.

The important triumph at the World Championship in Japan, the most brilliant achievement in the history of Spanish basketball, has also served as an example in overcoming difficulties, team spirit, candour and commitment to sports ethics.

This extraordinary generation of players, led by Pau Gasol and coached by José Vicente "Pepu" Hernandez, has conveyed to the world, and especially to the young, a renewed thrill in the fostering and nurturing of sports.

Oviedo, 6th September 2006

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades