Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas


Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Norman Foster

Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts 2009

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts, made up of Ms. Mercedes Álvarez, Mr. Juan Cruz, Mr. Fernando Delgado, Ms. Lourdes Fernández, Mr. Jorge Fernández Bustillo, Mr. José Fernández-Velasco, Mr. Carlos Fitz-James Stuart Martínez de Irujo, Duke of Huescar, Mr. José Luis Garci, Mr. Guillermo García-Alcalde, Mr. Jordi García Candau, Ms. Rosina Gómez-Baeza, Mr. Juan Carlos Laviana, Ms. Kely Méndez Riestra, Mr. Miguel Muñiz, Ms. Beatriz Pecker, Mr. Benigno Pendás García, Mr. Mariano Puig, Ms. Amelia Valcárcel, chaired by Mr. José Lladó Fernández-Urrutia and with Mr. José Antonio Caicoya acting as secretary, has decided to bestow the 2009 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts on the British architect and city planner Norman Robert Foster, whose work of universal scope combines aesthetic quality, intellectual reflection and a dialogue between territory and citizens via an original mastery of space, light and matter. Norman Foster, an architect of the global era, brilliantly anticipates the only polis possible in the 21st century, one that is at the service of sustainable development and of personal and social freedom.

Oviedo, 20th May 2009

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades