Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

  • Síguenos en:
Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards 04/13/2018

The meetings of the juries responsible for granting the 2018 Princess of Asutrias Awards will commence on 24 April

303 nominations had been submitted as of 14th March


In all, more than 150 public figures will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first of the jury meetings will take place this coming 24th April. This will be the thirty-eigth edition of the Awards which are conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Deliberations will take place at the Reconquista Hotel, in Oviedo, according to the following schedule:


  • Arts: 24th and 25th April
  • Communication and Humanities : 2nd and 3rd May
  • International Cooperation: 8th and 9th May
  • Sports: 15th and 16th May
  • Literature: 23rd and 24th May
  • Social Sciences: 29th and 30th May
  • Technical  and Scientific Research: 5th and 6th June
  • Concord: 12th and 13th June

On the first day of the meeting, the members of the corresponding jury will meet with the media around 11:00am, immediately prior to the beginning of the deliberations, which will commence at 11:30am. The decision will be announced at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on the second day each jury meets.

The Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony will take place in October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, in a solemn event presided over by Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

Nominations submitted

At the close of the nomination period, 14th March last, the Foundation’s offices had received 303 candidatures from 62 countries. Those who have submitted nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the Jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Laureates from previous years and Jury members may submit nominations up until four calendar days before the date of convening the jury corresponding to the category for which such nominations are submitted.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades