Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The juries in charge of granting the 2016 Princess of Asturias Awards are to begin meeting on 10th May

 215 candidatures had been submitted as of 10th March


More than 150 public figures in all will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first of the jury meetings will take place this coming 10th May. This will be the thirty-sixth edition of the Awards which are conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Deliberations are to take place at the Hotel de la Reconquista in Oviedo (Asturias, Spain) according to the following schedule:


  • Arts: 10th and 11th May
  • Communication and Humanities : 18th and 19 May
  • Social Sciences: 24th and 25th May
  • Technical  and Scientific Research: 31st May and 1st June
  • Sports: 7th and 8th June
  • Literature: 14th and 15th June
  • International Cooperation: 21st and 22nd June


  • Concord: 5th and 6th September

The members of the corresponding Jury will be holding a press conference on the first day of meetings at 11 A.M. (GMT+02:00), right before the deliberations are set to begin. The Jury's decision is to be made public at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on the second day of deliberations of each of the juries.

The Princess of Asturias Awards are to be presented this October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo in a grand ceremony that will be presided by TM The King and Queen of Spain.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture –representing and symbolizing the Awards–, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia.

Candidatures presented

At the close of the nomination period, 10th March last, the Foundation’s headquarters had received 215 candidatures from 50 countries. Those who have submitted nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and prior laureates of the Awards.

According to the Regulations governing the Awards, the following may submit nominations to the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades