Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2016 Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities

22 nominations from 14 different countries are in the running for this award, the second of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXVI edition


The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2016 Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities, the second of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 18th and 19th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXVI edition in their history.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities shall be conferred on those “whose creative and investigative work in any type of humanistic activity or in any activity related to social communication, within the framework of the sciences and disciplines that both fields of activity encompass, represents an outstanding contribution to universal culture”.

Twenty-two candidatures, from China, Colombia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Mexico, Morocco, Portugal, Russia, Sweden, the United Kingdom, the United States and Spain, have been nominated for this award.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 11 A.M. (GMT+2:00) on Wednesday 18th in the “Salón de Consejos” of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon (GMT+2:00) on Thursday 19th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es

Jury composition

The Jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Helen Aguirre Ferre
  • José Antonio Álvarez Gundín
  • Luis María Anson Oliart
  • Juan Barja de Quiroga Losada
  • Adela Cortina Orts
  • Víctor García de la Concha
  • Silvia Elena Giorguli Saucedo
  • Javier González Ferrari
  • Miguel Ángel Liso Tejada
  • Ramón López Vilas
  • Patricio Lorente
  • Emilio Morenatti Fernández
  • Beatriz de Moura Gurgel
  • Benigno Pendás García
  • Diana Sorensen
  • José Antonio Vera Gil
  • Enrique de Ybarra e Ybarra
  • Alberto Anaut González (acting secretary)

Technical data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7  
  • RX Frequency: 11594.0 MHz  
  • Band: Ku  
  • Polarization: Horizontal  
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols/second  
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feed TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Audio PID: 0x21
  • Vídeo PID: 0x30
  • PMT PID: 0x34

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498





Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/eS2o6_fGDjE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>  


End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades