Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Zygmunt Bauman, Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities, has died

Joint Laureate in 2010, together with Alain Touraine “have created, independently from one another, singularly valuable conceptual instruments for understanding the changing, speeded-up world in which we live”


Zygmunt Bauman, 2010 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities together with Alain Touraine, has died.

“(…) Zygmunt Bauman, born in Poland but nationalised British, who has lectured at universities in diverse countries, has comprehensively studied in depth the social condition of post-modern man in an unstable world of transitory values. In his decisive analysis of this reality, Bauman has coined the term “liquid modernity”, incisively developed in the work of the same name”, as stated in the Minutes of the Jury.

The Jury was chaired by Manuel Olivencia Ruiz and made up of José Antonio Álvarez Gundín, Adela Cortina Orts, Diego Carcedo, Alejandro Echevarría Busquet, Álex Grijelmo García, José Luis Gutiérrez Suárez, Miguel Ángel Liso Tejada, Ramón López Vilas, Catalina Luca de Tena y García-Conde, Francisco Luzón López, Ana Rosa Migoya Diego, Alberto Oliart Saussol, José Luis Pardos Pérez, José Ramón Pérez Ornia, José Antonio Sánchez Domínguez, Ricardo Senabre Sempere, Enrique de Ybarra e Ybarra and with Juan Luis Iglesias Prada (as acting secretary).

The Awards Ceremony, which took place on 22nd October, was presided over by HM King Felipe VI, then Prince of Asturias. Besides the address by His Majesty, the speeches at the ceremony were given by Zygmunt Bauman, Alain Touraine, Amin Maaolouf, Vicente del Bosque and the president of the Foundation, Matías Rodríguez Inciarte.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades