Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Tzvetan Todorov,Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, has died

Bestowed with the Award in 2008 for “his intellectual concern, his wisdom and erudition [which] surpasses all frontiers and seeks the middle ground”


Tzvetan Todorov, 2008 Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, has died.

According to the minutes of the Jury bestowing the Award, Todorov was “(…) a rigorous theorist of the structuralist movement, which he applied to literature and literary criticism. He gradually evolved towards the cultural analysis and the history of ideas. His intellectual concern, his wisdom and erudition, surpass all frontiers and seek the middle ground, allowing him to study great issues of our time, such as the development of democracies, the understanding between cultures, rootlessness, the appreciation of others and the impact of violence on collective memory. Todorov represents the spirit of unity in Europe, between the West and the East, and the commitment to the ideals of freedom, equality, integration and justice.”

The Jury was chaired by Manuel Fraga Iribarne and composed of Lluis Xabel Álvarez, Gonzalo Anes, Raúl Bocanegra, María Emilia Casas Baamonde, Adela Cortina, Mercedes Fernández-Martorell, Ángel Gabilondo, José Luis García Delgado, Josefina Gómez Mendoza, Manuel Jesús González, Luis González Seara, Carmen Iglesias, Adolfo Menéndez, Aurelio Menéndez Menéndez, José Manuel Otero Novas, Rosa María Rodríguez Magda, Rafael Puyol and Juan Vázquez, as acting secretary.

The Awards Ceremony, which took place on 24th October, was presided over by HM King Felipe VI, then Prince of Asturias. Besides the address by His Majesty, the speeches at the ceremony were given by Tzvetan Todorov, Margaret Atwood, Ingrid Betancourt and the President of the Foundation, Matías Rodríguez Inciarte.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades