Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


288 candidatures from fifty seven countries have been nominated for the 2017 Princess of Asturias Awards

The deadline for submitting nominations closed yesterday, Thursday, 30th March


288 nominations from 57 countries have been submitted for the Princess of Asturias Awards in this their 37th year.

The deadline for submitting nominations closed yesterday, Thursday, 30th March. Jury members and laureates from previous editions may submit their own proposals up to a minimum of three days before the date established for convening the corresponding jury.

Those who have submitted nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

Around 150 public figures expert in each of the fields will make up the eight Juries (one for each Award), the meetings of which will be held in May and June in Oviedo, including the meeting of the Jury for the Award for Concord, which was traditionally convened in September.

As is customary, the Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony will be held at the Campoamor Theatre in this same city in October and will be presided over by TM The King and Queen.

There are eight Princess of Asturias Awards: the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Regulations governing their conferral, the awards are aimed at “rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanistic work performed at an international level by individuals, institutions, or groups of individuals or institutions”. Nominees should “be truly exemplary and their work or contribution should be of acknowledged international standing”.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades