Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Área Musical


Over 200 candidatures for the 2009 prince of Asturias awards.


These exclude nominations made through consulates and embassies and those for Sports and Concord Award categories, which have a 24th July deadline.

More than two hundred candidatures from over thirty-four countries across the five continents have been nominated for this year´s Prince of Asturias Awards, now being held for the twenty-ninth time.

The nomination period closed at 2 p.m. today, Friday 13th. Figures will be swelled during the coming weeks by nominations made at Spanish embassies and consulates abroad, as well as by candidatures proposed by the members of the Juries for each category, who have until two days before the Jury is convened.

Nominations for Sports Concord and Awards must be in by 24th July, as the corresponding Jury meeting will take place in September.

The bulk of the nominations have been received at the Foundation´s headquarters by fax, e-mail, post and courier services.

Over hundred and fifty public figures, each one an expert in one of the categories, make up the eight Juries (one for each of Awards) that will begin their deliberations in Oviedo in the middle of May.

The Prince of Asturias Awards presentation ceremony will be held at Oviedo's Campoamor Theatre this autumn. The gala ceremony is to be presided by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias.

There are eight Award categories: Communication and Humanities, Arts, Letters, Social Sciences, Scientific and Technical Research, International Cooperation, Sports and Concord. Each is intended to "acknowledge the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work in the international milieu done by individuals, teams or institutions," and candidatures should meet the requirement of "being outstandingly exemplary and of acknowledged international standing."

Each Prince of Asturias Award carries with it a cash prize of fifty thousand euros, the sculpture commissioned from Joan Miró to symbolise the Awards, a diploma and an insignia.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades