Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord

28 nominations from 16 different countries are in the running for this Award, the last of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their 37th edition


The Jury responsible for conferring the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord will meet this coming 20th and 21st June in Oviedo. This is the last of the eight international awards convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation this year, in this its 37th edition. Twenty-eight candidatures, from sixteen different countries, have been nominated for this Award. The meetings will be held at the Reconquista Hotel, Oviedo.

As stated in the Foundation’s Statutes, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord shall be conferred on those “whose work constitutes an outstanding contribution at an international level to the defence and universality of human rights, the fostering and protection of peace, freedom, solidarity or world heritage or, in general, to the progress of humanity.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

As usual, the Jury for the Prince of Asturias Award for Concord will be composed largely of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Deliberations will commence at 6:00pm on Tuesday, 20th June, in the hotel’s Salón Covadonga (Chapel), immediately after the taking of the official photo. The Jury’s decision will be made public at 12 noon the following day, Wednesday, in the same room. Following this, the members of the Jury may be interviewed.

This is the last of the eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, in what is now their 37th edition. Previously, the Princess of Asturias of the Arts Award went to South African artist William Kentridge, the Award for Communication and Humanities to the comedy-musical group Les Luthiers, the Award for International Cooperation to The Hispanic Society of America, the Award for Sports to the men’s national rugby union team of New Zealand, the Award for Social Sciences to British thinker and researcher Karen Armstrong, the Award for Literature to Polish poet and essayist Adam Zagajewski, and the Award for Technical and Scientific Research to US physicists Rainer Weiss, Kip S. Thorne and Barry C. Barish and the LIGO Scientific Collaboration.

The announcement of the Jury’s decision will be transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast on the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es/en  

Members of the jury

  • Íñigo Abarca Junco
  • Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda, Viscount of Castillo de Almansa
  • Antonio Basagoiti García-Tuñón
  • Santiago Bergareche Busquet
  • Antonio Brufau Niubó
  • Sol Daurella Comadrán
  • José Manuel Entrecanales Domecq
  • Isidro Fainé Casas
  • Javier Fernández Fernández
  • Felipe Fernández Fernández
  • Pedro Luis Fernández Pérez
  • Emilio Ferré Solé
  • Ignacio Garralda Ruiz de Velasco
  • Alicia Koplowitz Romero de Juséu, Marchioness of Bellavista
  • Wenceslao López Martínez
  • Laureano Lourido Artime
  • Teresa Mallada de Castro
  • Adolfo Menéndez Menéndez
  • Carmen Moriyón Entrialgo
  • María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo
  • Pilar Platero Sanz
  • Mariano Puig Planas
  • Matías Rodríguez Inciarte
  • Gonzalo Sánchez Martínez
  • Pedro Sanjurjo González
  • Andreas Schierenbeck
  • Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez
  • Ángel Antonio del Valle Suárez
  • José María Villanueva Fernández
  • Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos (acting secretary)

technical data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 71-15
  • Carrier: 5
  • Rx Frecuency: 12576.0 MHz  
  • Band: Ku  
  • Polarization: Horizontal  
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 Megasímbolos/segundo  
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Carrier: Feed 1 TSA America
  • Rx Frecuency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498


Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/BEV4Z6kDPPs?ecver=1" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>


End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades