Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Área Musical


The call for the 2009 prince of Asturias awards now open.


Thousands of pamphlets are distributed worldwide.

The Prince of Asturias Foundation has begun distribution of the pamphlet containing the official announcement for candidatures and rules for the 2009 Prince of Asturias Awards. Thus, the period for presenting candidatures for these Awards - which are all international in scope and which are now being held for the twenty-ninth time - is open. This pamphlet is sent to research centres, academies, universities, the diplomatic corps and major figures world-wide.

Thousands of pamphlets are mailed in Spain and distributed by special courier service elsewhere.

There are eight Prince of Asturias Awards: Communication and Humanities, the Arts, Letters, Social Sciences, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Sports and Concord. They are intended, to quote the Foundations Statutes, "to reward the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanistic work performed by individuals, groups, or institutions world-wide."

The deadline for proposing candidates is March 13th 2009. This date is extended till July 24th for the Concord and Sports Awards.

Each of the Prince of Asturias Awards has its own jury, made up of specialists in the area, with the exception of the Concord Award jury, which is made up of the Patrons of the Prince of Asturias Foundation.

Since the Prince of Asturias Awards were inaugurated in 1981 they have acquired considerable international prestige. The grand presentation ceremony is traditionally held in autumn at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, the capital of the Principality of Asturias. It is presided over by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias, accompanied by H.R.H. the Princess of Asturias and is attended by outstanding figures from national and international social and cultural circles.

Each of the eight Prince of Asturias Awards comprises a diploma, a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Awards, an insignia bearing the Foundation´s coat of arms, and a cash prize of ?50,000.

By Internet
Proposals can be sent to the Foundation's head office by mail or e-mail (info@fpa.es), or to Spanish Embassies or Consulates overseas.

Full information in Spanish and English on the institution, its history, activities, award winners and so forth can be accessed at this Foundation´s own server (www.fpa.es). The official announcement for candidatures and the rules are also available there in French, German and Portuguese.

Previous Award winners
Writers such as Álvaro Mutis, Mario Vargas Llosa, Camilo José Cela, Günter Grass, Doris Lessing, Arthur Miller, Claudio Magris or Paul Auster; politicians such as Václav Havel, Jacques Delors, Adolfo Suárez, Mijail Gorbachov, Nelson Mandela, Isaac Rabin, H.M. King Hussein of Jordan, Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, Al Gore or Ingrid Betancourt; institutions such as the United Nation's High Commission for Refugees, Unidad Revolucionaria Nacional Guatemalteca (the Guatemalan National Revolutionary Movement), Médicos Sin Fronteras (Doctors with no Borders) and Medicus Mundi, the Sephardic Community, the American Foundation for Aids Research (founded and led by Elizabeth Taylor), CNN, UNICEF or the organisations leading in Africa the fight against malaria; scientists such as Stephen Hawking, the Atapuerca Research Team, Guido Münch, Robert Gallo and Luc Montagnier, the human world's leading research teams in the field of the human genome, the fathers of Internet or Jane Goodall; historians such as John Elliott or Julio Caro Baroja, intellectuals such as Julián Marías, Indro Montanelli, George Steiner, Umberto Eco, Hans M. Enzensberger or Jürgen Habermas; artists such as Antoni Tàpies, Óscar Niemeyer, Joaquín Rodrigo, Vittorio Gassmann, Barbara Hendricks, Woody Allen and Miquel Barceló and sports personalities such as Sebastian Coe, Severiano Ballesteros, Sergei Bubka, the Brazilian Football Squad, Fernando Alonso, Michael Schumacher or Rafael Nadal have been, to name but a few, some of the award winners since 1981.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades