Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The European Union, Princess of Asturias Award for Concord

The European Union (EU) has been bestowed with the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord, as made public today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.


The European Union (EU) has been bestowed with the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord, as made public today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.

The Jury for this Award –convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by Javier Fernández Fernández, President of the Principality of Asturias, and composed of Íñigo Abarca Junco, Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda, Viscount of Castillo de Almansa, Antonio Basagoiti García-Tuñón, Santiago Bergareche Busquet, Antonio Brufau Niubó, Sol Daurella Comadrán, José Manuel Entrecanales Domecq, Isidro Fainé Casas, Felipe Fernández Fernández, Pedro Luis Fernández Pérez, Emilio Ferré Solé, Ignacio Garralda Ruiz de Velasco, Alicia Koplowitz Romero de Juséu, Marchioness of Bellavista, Wenceslao López Martínez, Laureano Lourido Artime, Teresa Mallada de Castro, Adolfo Menéndez Menéndez, Carmen Moriyón Entrialgo, María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo, Pilar Platero Sanz, Mariano Puig Planas, Matías Rodríguez Inciarte, Gonzalo Sánchez Martínez, Pedro Sanjurjo González, Andreas Schierenbeck, Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez, Ángel Antonio del Valle Suárez, José María Villanueva Fernández and Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos (as acting secretary).

This candidature was put forward by Jonás Fernández Álvarez, Member of the European Parliament. It was seconded, among others, by former Presidents of the Spanish Government Felipe González and José Luis R. Zapatero; former Speakers of the European Parliament Josep Borrell, Nicole Fontaine and Hans-Gert Pöttering; former Vice-President of the European Commission Joaquín Almunia; former President of Panama Martín Torrijos; and former President of Uruguay Julio María Sanguinetti.

“Europe will not be made all at once, or according to a single plan. It will be built through concrete achievements which first create a de facto solidarity.” These words by Robert Schuman in his statement of 9th May 1950 give a glimpse of the dream of a united Europe after one of the bloodiest periods in contemporary history. Sixty years after the signing of the Treaty of Rome, the EU represents a unique model of supranational political integration based on the peaceful, progressive and free association of its members. The sum of various elements such as the common market (free movement of persons, goods, workers and capital), the single currency, regional, agricultural and trade policies, among others, and guarantees of stability, prosperity and respect for human rights evidence this fact. During these six decades, Franco-German reconciliation and the enlargement of the borders of the EU towards the east of Europe have been achieved, among other milestones.

The signing of the Treaty of Paris in 1951 created the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC): a supranational entity promoted by Robert Schuman and Jean Monnet, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Commissar General of Modernization and Equipment of the French Government, respectively, at the time. Conceived on the idea that, with increasing economic interdependence between countries, the potential for conflict would be reduced, the ECSC regulated the coal and steel industries in France and Germany and was open to other Member States. It was the direct antecedent of the ‘Europe of the Six’: France, West Germany, Italy, Belgium, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. The European Economic Community (EEC), to which Spain acceded in 1986, was subsequently created, as well as the European Atomic Energy Community (EAEC), whose establishment was agreed in 1957 by the Treaty of Rome. In 1993, the EEC became the European Union (EU). Since 2009, the EU has been governed by what is known as the Treaty of Lisbon, which replaces the failed attempt to create a European constitution at the beginning of the 21st century.

In recent times, the EU has fostered a more inclusive and constructive relationship with neighbours such as Turkey, the Middle East and North Africa. Currently, 28 Member States and more than 500 million people are beneficiaries of a European integration based on the rule of law which has proved to be a peace project in itself. However, the EU not only revolves around peace between nations, but also constitutes a community of values based on freedom and justice. In this regard, the EU must continue to face new challenges such as the definitive end to the economic and social crisis the continent has been enduring for several years now and the recent announcement by the United Kingdom (UK) of its withdrawal from the EU, a circumstance which puts a constantly evolving EU to the test.

Since the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty in 2009, the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights has brought together in a single document all the rights contained in previous European treaties, while the European Parliament has supported human rights through the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought since 1998. In 2012, the EU received the Nobel Peace Prize for its contribution to the advancement of peace, reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe.

This year a total of 28 candidatures, from 16 different countries, have been nominated for this award. This is the last of the eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, in what is now their 37th edition. Previously, the Princess of Asturias of the Arts Award went to South African artist William Kentridge, the Award for Communication and Humanities to the comedy-musical group Les Luthiers, the Award for International Cooperation to The Hispanic Society of America, the Award for Sports to the New Zealand national rugby union team, the Award for Social Sciences to British thinker and researcher Karen Armstrong, the Award for Literature to Polish poet and essayist Adam Zagajewski, and the Award for Technical and Scientific Research to US physicists Rainer Weiss, Kip S. Thorne and Barry C. Barish and the LIGO Scientific Collaboration (LSC).

Each of the Princess of Asturias Awards comprises a Joan Miró sculpture – representing and symbolizing the Awards–, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia.

The Awards will be presented in the autumn in Oviedo at a grand ceremony chaired by TM The King and Queen of Spain.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades