Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Mario Vargas Llosa, Prince of Asturias Award Laureate for Literature, winner of the Literature Nobel Prize

Mario Vargas Llosa is presented with the Award by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias. ©FPA

In 1986, H.R.H. Don Felipe de Borbón presented him with the Prince of Asturias Award in Oviedo.

Mario Vargas Llosa has been bestowed with the Noble Prize in Literature. His professional career was recognized in 1986 with the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, together with Rafael Lapesa.

The minutes of the Jury, dated 23rd May 1986, stated that the Award went to Mario Vargas Llosa for “his extraordinary gifts as a story-teller, the wealth and variety of his work, filled with the spirit of creative freedom and his mastery of the language”.  

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades