Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, 2012 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement has been bestowed with the 2012 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, as made public in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.

International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement ©FPA

The Jury for this Award –convened by the Prince of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by Gustavo Suárez Pertierra and composed of Pedro Alonso Fernández, Enrique Barón Crespo, José María Bergareche Busquet, Eugenia Bieto Caubet, Silvia Escobar Moreno, Jorge de Esteban Alonso, Gloria Fernández-Lomana García, Enrique Fernández-Miranda y Lozana, Duke of Fernandez-Miranda, Isabel Gómez-Acebo y Duque de Estrada, Ricardo Martí Fluxá, José María Martín Patino, Jaime Montalvo Correa, Luis Javier Navarro Vigil, Francisco Pinto Balsemão, Marta Reynal-Querol, Rafael Sánchez-Barriga Fernández, Luis Sánchez-Merlo y Ruiz and Alicia Castro Masaveu (acting as secretary).

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement is considered the largest humanitarian network in the world. Its mission is to prevent and alleviate human suffering, protect life and health and ensure respect for people in times of armed conflict and other emergencies. The germ of the Red Cross was conceived when Henry Dunant, following the Battle of Solferino (Italy) in 1859, organised people to help more than 40,000 people who lay dead or wounded without any medical attendance or basic care. He consequently proposed the creation of national relief societies to care for those wounded in the field, thus pointing the way to the future Geneva Conventions.

The International Movement soon evolved towards its three current lines of work: humanitarian aid to victims of armed conflicts, humanitarian aid to victims of natural and other types of disasters in peacetime and preventive action in favour of social welfare and quality of life.

The Red Cross came into being in 1863 when five Geneva citizens, including Dunant, founded the International Committee for Relief to the Wounded, which was later to become the International Committee of the Red Cross. The following year, 12 governments adopted the first Geneva Convention guaranteeing aid to the wounded on the battlefield and defining medical services as “neutral”. Henry Dunant’s work was recognized in 1901 with the first Nobel Peace Prize, which he shared with Frédéric Passy.

The International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, present in 186 countries and supported by over 100 million volunteers, is composed of the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC), the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and 187 National Societies. Each of these has an independent legal identity, structure and mandate, although they all share seven basic principles: humanity, impartiality, neutrality, independence, voluntary service, unity and universality.

They meet every two years in what is known as the Council of Delegates, a forum that examines the strategy of the Movement, discusses global humanitarian issues, studies strategic issues and takes decisions. This Council is not a governing body as such, as the Movement has no central command, although it does have a deliberative body: the International Conference of the Red Cross and Red Crescent. The International Conference meets every four years, irrespective of whether it may be convened at other times, and brings together representatives of the three components of the Movement and the 194 States parties to the Geneva Conventions, as well as observers from other humanitarian organisations and the United Nations. The Standing Commission organises these conferences and is the trustee of the International Conference during the time between any two conferences.

The Movement confers the Henry Dunant Medal, the highest award in recognition of outstanding service and acts of great devotion made by one of its members to the Red Cross and Red Crescent cause. The first of these medals were bestowed in 1969. It also edits its own journal, the Red Cross, Red Crescent Magazine, which addresses issues of interest in the humanitarian field.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanistic work performed at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation shall be conferred on those “whose work with another or others in areas such as Public Health, Universal Education, Environmental Protection or Social and Economic Development, among others, constitutes a significant contribution at an international level”.

This year a total of 33 candidatures from Bangladesh, Belgium, Belarus, Brazil, Colombia, Cuba, Chile, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Holland, Hungary, India, Ireland, Lithuania, Palestine, Poland, Rumania, Russia, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela and Spain ran for the award.

This is the sixth of eight Prince of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year for the thirty second. The Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts went to Spanish architect Rafael Moneo, the Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences was given to American philosopher Martha C. Nussbaum, the Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities went to Japanese video game designer Shigeru Miyamoto, the Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research was jointly bestowed on British biologist Sir Gregory Winter and American pathologist Richard A. Lerner and the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature was given to American writer Philip Roth.

The Prince of Asturias Awards for Sports and Concord will be announced in September.

Each Prince of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture, representing and symbolising the Awards, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia. The awards will be presented in the autumn in Oviedo at a grand ceremony chaired by H.R.H. the Prince of Asturias.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades