Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts

33 nominations from 20 different countries are in the running for this award, the first of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their thirty-third year.

Jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts. ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts, the first of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 8th and 9th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXIII edition in their history.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding "the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions". Within this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts will be bestowed on those "whose work in Film, Theatre, Dance, Music, Photography, Painting, Sculpture, Architecture or any other form of artistic expression constitutes a significant contribution to the cultural heritage of mankind".

Thirty-three candidatures, from Argentina, Austria, Colombia, Cuba, the United States, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Peru, Portugal, the United Kingdom, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Ukraine, Zimbabwe and Spain, have been nominated for this award.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • José Luis Cienfuegos Marcello
  • Marzio Conti
  • Carlos Fitz-James Stuart Martínez de Irujo
  • José Maria Flotats i Picas
  • Guillermo García-Alcalde Fernández
  • Carmen Giménez Martín
  • Catalina Luca de Tena y García Conde
  • José Lladó Fernández-Urrutia
  • Hans Meinke Paege
  • Elena Ochoa Foster
  • Benedetta Tagliabue
  • Vicente Todolí Cervera
  • Carlos Urroz
  • Amelia Valcárcel Bernaldo de Quirós
  • Benjamin Weil
  • Miguel Zugaza Miranda
  • José Antonio Caicoya Cores (acting secretary)

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon on Wednesday 8th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The Jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon on Thursday 9th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury's decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: http://www.fpa.es/



  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11594.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9


  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512  9450/ 9498



  • The Foundation's official account: @fpa_es
  • Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards



Links for live streaming of the announcement of the jury's decision.

  • Flash (for Windows and Android devices): rtmp://B25705.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep?b=25705&s=livestream/25705/livestream
  • HLS (for Apple devices): http://b24026.cdn.telefonica.com/24026/playlist.m3u8

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades