Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research

43 nominations from 15 different countries are in the running for this award, the fourth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their thirty-third year.

Jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research. ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, the fourth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 28th and 29th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the thirty-third time in their history.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research shall be conferred on those “whose research findings and/or inventions represent an outstanding contribution to the progress and welfare of Mankind in the fields of Mathematics, Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medical Sciences, Earth and Space Sciences and Technological Sciences, including those disciplines corresponding to each of these fields and their related techniques”.

There are 43 nominations in the running for this Award from Argentina, Belgium, Canada, Costa Rica, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Netherlands, Pakistan, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States and Spain.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:           

. Juan Luis Arsuaga Ferreras

. Juan Ignacio Cirac Sasturáin

. Pedro Miguel Echenique Landiríbar

. Luis Fernández-Vega Sanz

. Cristina Garmendia Mendizábal

. María del Rosario Heras Celemín

. Bernardo Hernández González

. Emilio Lora-Tamayo D’Ocón

 . José Antonio Martínez Álvarez

. Amador Menéndez Velázquez

. María Teresa Miras Portugal

. Ginés Morata Pérez

. Enrique Moreno González

. César Nombela Cano

. Eduard Punset Casals

. Marta Sanz-Solé

. Manuel Toharia Cortés

. Vicente Gotor Santamaría (acting secretary)

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon on Tuesday 28th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon on Wednesday 29th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es



  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11582.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9


  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498



  • The Foundation's official account: @fpa_es
  • Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards



Links for live streaming of the announcement of the jury's decision.

APPENDIX.-Previous award-winners



1981 - Alberto Sols

1982 - Manuel Ballester Boix

1983 - Luis Antonio Santaló

1984 - Antonio García Bellido

1985 - David Vázquez and Emilio Rosenblueth

1986 - Antonio González

1987 - Jacinto Convit and Pablo Rudomín

1988 - Manuel Cardona y Marcos Moshinsky

1989 - Guido Münch

1990 - Santiago Grisolía and Salvador Moncada

1991 - Francisco Bolívar Zapata

1992 - Federico García Moliner

1993 - Amable Liñán Martínez

1994 - Manuel Elkin Patarroyo

1995 - Manuel Losada Villasante and Instituto Nacional de Biodiversidad de Costa Rica

1996 - Valentín Fuster de Carulla

1997 - Equipo Investigador de Atapuerca (Burgos, España)

1998 - Pedro Miguel Etxenike and Emilio Méndez Pérez

1999 - Enrique Moreno and Ricardo Miledi

2000 - Robert G. Gallo and Luc Montagnier

2001 - John Sulston, Francis Collins, Craig Venter, Hamilton Smith and Jean Weissenbach

2002 - Lawrence Roberts, Robert Kahn, Vinton Cerf and Tim Berners-Lee

2003 - Jane Goodall

2004 - Joan Massagué, Judah Folkman, Tony Hunter, Bert Vogelstein and Robert Weinberg

2005 - Antonio Damasio

2006 - Juan Ignacio Cirac

2007 - Peter Lawrence and Ginés Morata

2008 - Sumio Iijima, Shuji Nakamura, Robert Langer, George M. Whitesides and Tobin Marks

2009 - Martin Cooper and Raymond Samuel Tomlinson

2010 - David Julius, Linda Watkins and Baruch Minke

2011 - Joseph Altman, Arturo Álvarez-Buylla and Giacomo Rizzolatti

2012 - Sir Gregroy Winter and Richard A. Lerner

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades