Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Premios Princesa de Asturias


The jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Literature

18 nominations from 11 different countries are in the running for this Award, the fifth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their thirty-third year.

Jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Literature. ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, the fifth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on June 4th and 5th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the thirty-third time in their history.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for Literature shall be conferred on those “whose literary work represents an outstanding contribution to universal literature”.

There are 18 nominations in the running for this Award from Bosnia, Cuba, China, Ireland, Japan, Netherlands, Nicaragua, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay and Spain.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

 The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:           

. Andrés Amorós Guardiola

. Luis María Anson Oliart

. Xuan Bello Fernández

. José Manuel Blecua Perdices

. Amelia Castilla Alcolado

. Juan Cruz Ruiz

. Luis Alberto de Cuenca

. José Luis García Martín

. Álex Grijelmo García

. Manuel Llorente Manchado

. Rosa Navarro Durán

. Carme Riera Guilera

. Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente

. Fernando Sánchez Dragó

. Diana Sorensen

. Sergio Vila-Sanjuán

. José Luis García Delgado (acting secretary)

 Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon on Tuesday 4th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon on Wednesday 5th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es



  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11582.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9


  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498



  • The Foundation's official account: @fpa_info
  • Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards



Links for live streaming of the announcement of the jury's decision.

  • Flash PC: htmp://b26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep?b=26747&s=livestream/26747/livestream
  • Android: rtsp://B26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep/26747/livestream
  • Apple IOS: http://B26745.cdn.telefonica.com/26745/playlist.m3u8

APPENDIX.-Previous award-winners



1981 - José Hierro

1982 - Miguel Delibes and Gonzalo Torrente Ballester

1983 - Juan Rulfo

1984 - Pablo García Baena

1985 - Ángel González

1986 - Mario Vargas Llosa and Rafael Lapesa

1987 - Camilo José Cela

1988 - Carmen Martín Gaite and José Ángel Valente

1989 - Ricardo Gullón

1990 - Arturo Uslar Pietri

1991 - Pueblo de Puerto Rico

1992 - Francisco Morales Nieva

1993 - Claudio Rodríguez

1994 - Carlos Fuentes

1995 - Carlos Bousoño Prieto

1996 - Francisco Umbral

1997 - Álvaro Mutis

1998 - Francisco Ayala

1999 - Günter Grass

2000 - Augusto Monterroso

2001 - Doris Lessing

2002 - Arthur Miller

2003 - Fatema Mernissi and Susan Sontag

2004 - Claudio Magris

2005 - Nélida Piñon

2006 - Paul Auster

2007 - Amos Oz

2008 - Margaret Atwood

2009 - Ismaíl Kadaré

2010 - Amin Maalouf

2011 - Leonard Cohen

2012 - Philip Roth

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades