Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation

26 nominations from 17 different countries are in the running for this Award, the sixth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their thirty-third year.

Jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation. ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, the sixth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on June 11th and 12th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the thirty-third time in their history.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation shall be conferred on those “whose work with another or others in areas such as public health, universal education, environmental protection and social and economic development, among others, constitutes an outstanding contribution at the international level”.

There are 26 nominations in the running for this Award from Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, China, Colombia, France, Germany, Ghana, Italy, Kuwait, Netherlands, Norway, Palestine, Panama, South Africa, United States and Spain.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:          

     . Pedro Alonso Fernández

     . Enrique Barón Crespo

     . Eugenia Bieto Caubet

     . Silvia Escobar Moreno

     . Jorge de Esteban Alonso

     . Gloria Fernández-Lomana García

     . Enrique Fernández-Miranda y Lozana

     . Isabel Gómez-Acebo y Duque de Estrada

     . Jerónimo López Martínez

     . Ricardo Martí Fluxá

     . Jaime Montalvo Correa

     . Luis Javier Navarro Vigil

     . Francisco Pinto Balsemão

     . Rafael  Sánchez-Barriga Fernández

     . Gustavo Suárez Pertierra

     . Alicia Castro Masaveu (acting secretary)

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon on Tuesday 11th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon on Wednesday 12th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es



  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11582.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9


  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498



  • The Foundation's official account: @fpa_info
  • Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards



Links for live streaming of the announcement of the jury's decision.

  • Flash PC: htmp://b26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep?b=26747&s=livestream/26747/livestream
  • Android: rtsp://B26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep/26747/livestream
  • Apple IOS: http://B26745.cdn.telefonica.com/26745/playlist.m3u8

APPENDIX.-Previous award-winners



1981 - José López Portillo

1982 - Enrique Iglesias

1983 - Belisario Betancur

1984 - Contadora Group: Republics of Colombia, Mexico, Panama and   Venezuela

1985 - Raúl Alfonsín

1986 - Universities of Salamanca and Coimbra

1987 - Javier Pérez deCuéllar

1988 - Óscar Arias

1989 - Jacques Delors and Mijail Gorbachov

1990 - Hans Dietrich Genscher

1991 - United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees

1992 - Frederick W. De Klerk and Nelson R. Mandela

1993 - The soldiers from the United Nations, the Blue Helmets, carrying out humanitarian tasks in the former Yugoslavia

1994 - Isaac Rabin and Yaser Arafat

1995 - Mario Soares

1996 - Helmut Kohl

1997 - The Government of Guatemala and the Guatemalan National Revolutionary Unit

1998 - Fatiha Boudiaf , Olayinka Koso-Thomas, Graça Machel, Rigoberta Menchú, Fatana Ishaq Gailani, Somaly Man and Emma Bonino

1999 - John Glenn, Chiaki Mukai, Valery Polyakov and Pedro Duque

2000 - Fernando Henrique Cardoso

2001 - The International Space Station (space agencies from United States, Europe, Russia, Japan y Canada)

2002 - The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

2003 - Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

2004 - The European Union's Erasmus Programme

2005 - Simone Veil

2006 - Fundación Bill and Melinda Gates

2007 - Al Gore

2008 - The Ifakara Health Institute (Tanzania), the Malaria Research and Training Centre (Mali),  the Kintampo Health Research Centre (Ghana) and the Manhiça Centre of Health Research (Mozambique)

2009 - The World Health Organization (WHO)

2010 - The Transplantation Society and the Spanish National Transplant Organization

2011 - Bill Drayton

2012 - International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades