Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports

19 nominations from 12 different countries are in the running for this Award, the seventh of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their thirty-third year.

Jury meeting for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports. ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports, the seventh of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on June 18th and 19th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the thirty-third time in their history.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for Sports shall be conferred on those “whose lives and work are not only examples to others, but who have also contributed in an extraordinary manner through their efforts to the advancement, nurturing, fostering or dissemination of sport”.

There are 19 nominations in the running for this Award from Andorra, Argentina, Hungary, India, Kenya, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, South Africa, The Philippines, United Kingdom, United States and Spain.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:           

     . José María Abad Casamayor

     . David Álvarez González

     . Abel Antón Rodrigo

     . Óscar Campillo Madrigal

     . Marisol Casado Estupiñán

     . Josep María Casanovas i Punti

     . Enrique Castro González, “Quini”

     . Joaquín Folch Rusiñol-Corachán

     . Jorge Garbajosa Chaparro

     . María del Carmen Izquierdo Vergara

     . Javier Muñoz Gallego

     . Santiago Nolla Zayas

     . José Perurena López

     . Julián Redondo Pérez

     . María Rodríguez Escario

     . Arancha Sánchez-Vicario Santacana

     . Josep Lluis Vilaseca i Guasch (acting secretary)

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 16.30 p.m. on Tuesday 18th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon on Wednesday 19th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es



  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11582.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9


  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital Position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27500 MSymbols
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVB
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498



  • The Foundation's official account: @fpa_info
  • Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards



Links for live streaming of the announcement of the jury's decision.

  • Flash PC: htmp://b26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep?b=26747&s=livestream/26747/livestream
  • Android: rtsp://B26747.cdn.telefonica.com/live/ep/26747/livestream
  • Apple IOS: http://B26745.cdn.telefonica.com/26745/playlist.m3u8

APPENDIX.-Previous award-winners



1987 - Sebastian Coe

1988 - Juan Antonio Samaranch

1989 - Severiano Ballesteros

1990 - Alfonso "Sito" Pons

1991 - Sergei Bubka

1992 - Miguel Induráin

1993 - Javier Sotomayor

1994 - Martina Navratilova

1995 - Hassiba Boulmerka

1996 - Carl Lewis

1997 - Spanish Marathon Team

1998 - Arantxa Sánchez Vicario

1999 - Steffi Graf

2000 - Lance Armstrong

2001 - Manuel Estiarte

2002 - The Brazilian Football Squad

2003 - The Tour de Francia

2004 - Hicham El Guerrouj

2005 - Fernando Alonso

2006 - Spain's National Basket Team 2006

2007 - Michael Schumacher

2008 - Rafael Nadal

2009 - Yelena Isinbayeva

2010 - The Spanish National Football Squad

2011 - Haile Gebrselassie

2012 - Iker Casillas and Xavier Hernández

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades