Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The juries in charge of granting the 2014 Prince of Asturias Awards in their thirty-four edition are to begin meeting on 6th May

193 candidatures had been submitted as of 13th March.

Prince of Asturias Awards. ©FPA

Around 150 public figures are to make up the eight juries (one for each category) in charge of granting the Prince of Asturias Awards and are to begin convening next 6th May. This year marks the Awards' thirty-four edition.

Deliberations are to take place at the Hotel de la Reconquista in Oviedo according to the following schedule:


  • Arts: 6th and 7th May
  • Social Sciences: 13rd and 14th May
  • Communication and Humanities: 20th and 21st May
  • Scientific and Technical Research: 27th and 28th May
  • Literature: 3rd and 4th June
  • International Cooperation: 11st and 12th June
  • Sports: 17th and 18th June


  • Concord: 2nd y 3rd Septiember

The members of the corresponding Jury will be holding a press conference on the first day of meetings at 12 noon, right before the deliberations are set to begin. The Jury's decision is to be made public at 12 noon on the second day of deliberations of each of the juries.

The Prince of Asturias Awards are to be presented this October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo in a grand ceremony that will be presided by His Royal Highnesses the Prince of Asturias.

Each Prince of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture –representing and symbolizing the Awards–, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia.

Candidatures presented

At the close of the nomination period, 13rd March last, the Foundation’s headquarters had received 193 candidatures from 52 countries. Those institutions and individuals presenting nominations include prestigious universities, academic institutions and research centres of international scope, directors of the main museums worldwide, prior laureates of the Prince of Asturias Awards and other personalities, Spain’s ambassadors and representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain.

According to the Regulations governing the Awards, the following may submit nominations to the different Prince of Asturias Award categories: laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

The deadline for submitting nominations for the Award for Concord is 17th July. The members of the juries can submit their own nominations up until three days prior to the date set for convening the corresponding jury.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades