Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The Jury Meeting for the 2014 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts

36 nominations from 19 different countries are in the running for this Award, the first of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXIV edition

The Jury Meeting for the 2014 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2014 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts, the first of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 6th and 7th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXIV edition in their history.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts shall be conferred on those “whose work in cinematography, theatre, dance, music, photography, painting, sculpture, architecture or any other form of artistic expression constitutes an outstanding contribution to the universal heritage of humanity.”.

Thirty-six candidatures, from Argentina, Austria, China, Estonia, France, Georgia, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Lebanon, Mexico, Romania, Paraguay, Philippines, Portugal, the United Kingdom, the United States, Zimbabwe and Spain, have been nominated for this award.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture –representing and symbolizing the Awards–, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Bárbara Allende Gil de Biedma, Ouka Leele
  • José Luis Cienfuegos Marcello
  • Carlos Fitz-James Stuart Martínez de Irujo, duke of Huéscar
  • Guillermo García-Alcalde Fernández
  • Carmen Giménez Martín
  • Enrique González Macho
  • Catalina Luca de Tena y García-Conde
  • José Lladó Fernández-Urrutia
  • Hans Meinke Paege
  • Elena Ochoa Foster
  • Benedetta Tagliabue
  • Patricia Urquiola Hidalgo
  • Carlos Urroz Arancibia
  • Miguel Zugaza Miranda
  • José Antonio Caicoya Cores (acting secretary)

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon on Wednesday 6th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on Wednesday 7th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es

Technical Data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11594.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbosl/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Formato: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450 / 9498


Information of Interest


The Foundation’s official account: @fpa_info
Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards




Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

<iframe id="iframe_player" src="http://publisher.qbrick.com/Embed.aspx?mcid=336D970Cd9d5e984" mce_src="http://publisher.qbrick.com/Embed.aspx?mcid=336D970Cd9d5e984" width="768" height="432" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">You need a browser that can handle Iframes to be able to view this page.</iframe>

APPENDIX. – Previous award-winners

  • 1981 - Jesús López Cobos
  • 1982 - Pablo Serrano Aguilar
  • 1983 - Eusebio Sempere
  • 1984 - Orfeón Donostiarra
  • 1985 - Antonio López García
  • 1986 - Luis García Berlanga
  • 1987 - Eduardo Chillida
  • 1988 - Jorge Oteiza
  • 1989 - Óscar Niemeyer
  • 1990 - Antonio Tàpies
  • 1991 - Generation of Spanish Lyrical Singers
  • 1992 - Roberto Sebastián Antonio Matta
  • 1993 - Francisco Javier Sáenz de Oiza
  • 1994 - Alicia de Larrocha
  • 1995 - Fernando Fernán-Gómez
  • 1996 - Joaquín Rodrigo Vidre
  • 1997 - Vittorio Gassmann
  • 1998 - Sebastião Salgado
  • 1999 - Santiago Calatrava Valls
  • 2000 - Barbara Hendricks
  • 2001 - Krzystof Penderecki
  • 2002 - Woody Allen
  • 2003 - Miquel Barceló
  • 2004 - Paco de Lucía
  • 2005 - Maya Plisetskaya and Tamara Rojo
  • 2006 - Pedro Almodóvar
  • 2007 - Bob Dylan
  • 2008 - The National Network of Youth and Children Orchestras of Venezuela
  • 2009 - Norman Foster
  • 2010 - Richard Serra
  • 2011 - Riccardo Muti
  • 2012 - Rafael Moneo
  • 2013 - Michael Haneke

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades