Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2014 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities

22 nominations from 14 different countries are in the running for this award, the third of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their thirty-fourth year.

Annie Leibovitz, 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities ©FPA

The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2014 Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities, the third of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 20th and 21st. The awards will be bestowed this year for the thirty-fourth time in their history.

According to the Statutes of the Foundation, the Prince of Asturias Awards aim “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities shall be conferred on those “whose creative and investigative work in any type of humanistic activity or in any activity related to social communication, within the framework of the sciences and disciplines that both fields of activity encompass, represents an outstanding contribution to universal culture”.

There are 22 nominations in the running for this Award from Argentina, Colombia, Denmark, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Egypt, Estonia, Germany, Italy, Mexico, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States and Spain.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Inés Alberdi Alonso
  • José Antonio Álvarez Gundín
  • Alberto Anaut
  • Luis María Anson Oliart
  • Juan Barja de Quiroga Losada  
  • Adela Cortina Orts
  • Albert Espinosa i Puig
  • Soledad Fox Maura
  • Víctor García de la Concha
  • Javier Garciadiego Dantán
  • Javier González Ferrari
  • Jordi Gutiérrez Roldán
  • Miguel Ángel Liso Tejada
  • José Narro Robles
  • Benigno Pendás García
  • José Antonio Vera Gil
  • Enrique de Ybarra e Ybarra
  • Ramón López Vilas (acting secretary)

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon on Tuesday 20th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The Jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon (GMT+2.00h) on Wednesday 21st in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7
  • RX Frequency: 11594.0 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Horizontal
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feeds TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbosl/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Formato: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450 / 9498



The Foundation’s official account: @fpa_info
Prince of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards




Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

< iframe id="iframe_player" xsrc="http://publisher.qbrick.com/Embed.aspx?mcid=336D970Cd9d5e984" mce_src="http://publisher.qbrick.com/Embed.aspx?mcid=336D970Cd9d5e984" width="768" height="432" frameborder="0" scrolling="no">You need a browser that can handle Iframes to be able to view this page.</iframe> 

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades