Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The call for nominations for the 2015 Princess of Asturias Awards is now open

The Foundation will distribute the Regulations for the Awards in the coming weeks

The submission of nominations via the Internet is now enabled


The Princess of Asturias Foundation has opened the Call for Nominations for the 2015 Princess of Asturias Awards. In the coming weeks, it will distribute the publication containing the Call and the Regulations for the Awards, in what will now be their thirty-fifth edition. The publication is now available on the Foundation’s website (www.fpa.es) in Spanish, English, French, German and Portuguese.

The Regulations establish that the following may present nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: Laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Also on the Internet

Nominations may be submitted by mail, at the institution’s head office and by email fpa@fpa.es(fpa@fpa.es). Abundant information about the institution, its history, activities, laureates, etc., is also available in a number of different languages on the Foundation website.

Princess of Asturias Awards 

There are eight Princess of Asturias Awards: Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, they are aimed “at rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”.

The deadline for submitting nominations, which ends on 12th March 2015, is extended to 16th July for the Award for Concord. Each Princess of Asturias Award has its own jury, composed of specialists in the areas under consideration. The Concord jury consists mainly of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

The solemn ceremony at which all the awards are presented is traditionally held in the autumn at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, the capital of Asturias. Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of € 50,000, a diploma and an insignia bearing the Foundation’s coat of arms.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades