Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts

Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXV edition


The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts, the first of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 5th and 6th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXV edition in their history.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts shall be conferred on those “whose work in cinematography, theatre, dance, music, photography, painting, sculpture, architecture or any other form of artistic expression constitutes an outstanding contribution to the universal heritage of humanity.”.

Thirty-one candidatures, from Argentina, Australia, Cuba China, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Iraq, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Poland, Portugal, the United Kingdom, the United States and Spain, have been nominated for this award.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture –representing and symbolizing the Awards–, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on Tuesday 5th in the "Salón de Consejos" of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon (GMT+02:00) on Wednesday 6th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es

Jury composition

The jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Bárbara Allende Gil de Biedma, Ouka Leele
  • José Luis Cienfuegos Marcello
  • Carlos Fitz-James Stuart Martínez de Irujo, duque de Huéscar
  • Josep María Flotats i Picas
  • Guillermo García-Alcalde Fernández
  • Carmen Giménez Martín
  • José Lladó Fernández-Urrutia
  • Catalina Luca de Tena y García-Conde
  • Hans Meinke Paege
  • Rossen Milanov
  • Elena Ochoa Foster
  • Benedetta Tagliabue
  • Patricia Urquiola Hidalgo
  • Carlos Urroz Arancibia
  • Miguel Zugaza Miranda
  • José Antonio Caicoya Cores (acting secretary)

Technical data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87
  • Carrier: 7  
  • RX Frequency: 11594.0 MHz  
  • Band: Ku  
  • Polarization: Horizontal  
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 Megasímbolos/segundo  
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º Oeste
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channel: Feed 1 TSA América
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 Megasímbolos/segundo
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498




The Foundation’s official account: @fpa

Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards




Iframe code for live streaming of the announcement of the jury’s decision:

<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/L9PGH4_5exg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>  

appendix.- PREVIOUS laureates

  • 2014 - Frank Owen Gehry
  • 2013 - Michael Haneke
  • 2012 - Rafael Moneo
  • 2011 - Riccardo Muti
  • 2010 - Richard Serra
  • 2009 - Norman Foster
  • 2008 - Sistema Nacional de Orquestas Juveniles e Infantiles de Venezuela  
  • 2007 - Bob Dylan
  • 2006 - Pedro Almodóvar
  •  2005 - Maya Plisetskaya y Tamara Rojo
  • 2004 - Paco de Lucía  
  • 2003 - Miquel Barceló
  • 2002 - Woody Allen,
  • 2001 - Krzysztof Penderecki
  • 2000 - Barbara Hendricks  
  • 1999 - Santiago Calatrava  
  • 1998 - Sebastião Salgado  
  • 1997 - Vittorio Gassman
  • 1996 - Joaquín Rodrigo Vidrié  
  • 1995 - Fernando Fernán-Gómez
  • 1994 - Alicia de Larrocha  
  • 1993 - Francisco Javier Sáenz de Oiza  
  • 1992 - Roberto Matta Echaurren  
  • 1991 - Victoria de los Ángeles, Teresa Berganza, Montserrat Caballé, José Carreras, Plácido Domingo, Pilar Lorengar, Alfredo Kraus  
  •  1990 - Antonio Tápies  
  •  1989 - Oscar Niemeyer  
  • 1988 - Jorge Oteiza  
  • 1987 - Eduardo Chillida  
  •  1986 - Luis García Berlanga
  •  1985 - Antonio López García  
  • 1984 - Orfeón Donostiarra
  • 1983 - Eusebio Sempere  
  • 1982 - Pablo Serrano
  • 1981 - Jesús López Cobos

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades