Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences

26 nominations from 11 different countries are in the running for this award, the second of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXV edition.


The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, the second of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on May 12th and 13th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXV edition in their history.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Social Sciences shall be conferred on those “whose creative work or research represents an outstanding contribution to the benefit of humanity in the fields of History, Law, Linguistics, Teaching, Political Science, Psychology, Sociology, Ethics, Philosophy, Geography, Economics, Demography or Anthropology, including the disciplines corresponding to each of these fields”.

Twenty-six candidatures, from Croatia, France, Georgia, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Portugal, the United Kingdom, the United States, Uzbekistan and Spain, have been nominated for this award.

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia.

Members of the juries will hold an initial meeting with the media at 12 noon (GMT + 2:00) on Tuesday 12th in the “Salón de Consejos” of the hotel (on the first floor), immediately prior to being formally convened and starting their deliberations. The jury will then elect a president from amongst them. The jury secretary will be appointed by the Foundation.

Their decision will be made public at 12 noon (GMT + 2:00) on Wednesday 13th in the Salón Covadonga of the hotel (on the ground floor), and jury members will then be available for interviews.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be broadcast live for more than 150 countries via the main national and international radio and television channels. The signal will be openly transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es

Jury composition

The Jury, which is to meet at the Reconquista Hotel, will be made up of the following members:

  • Victoria Camps Cervera
  • Marta Elvira Rojo
  • María Garaña Corces
  • Isabel Gómez-Acebo y Duque de Estrada
  • Mauro Guillén Rodríguez
  • Carmen Iglesias Cano, Countess of Gisbert
  • Enrique Krauze
  • Óscar Loureda Lamas
  • Adolfo Menéndez Menéndez
  • Manuel Menéndez Menéndez
  • José Manuel Otero Novas
  • Joseph Pérez
  • Rafael Puyol Antolín
  • Isaac Querub Caro
  • Amelia Valcárcel y Bernaldo de Quirós
  • Juan Vázquez García (acting secretary)

technical data

  • Satélite: Hispasat 1D
  • Posición orbital: 30º Oeste
  • Transpondedor: 87
  • Portadora: 7  
  • Frecuencia Rx: 11594.0 MHz  
  • Banda: Ku  
  • Polarización: Horizontal  
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 Megasímbolos/segundo  
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codificación: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Formato: 16:9
  • Satélite: Hispasat 1E
  • Posición orbital: 30º Oeste
  • Transpondedor: 133
  • Canal: Feed 1 TSA América
  • Frecuencia Rx: 12052 MHz
  • Banda: Ku
  • Polarización: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 Megasímbolos/segundo
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codificación: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Formato: 16:9

Tel. satélite: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498


Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/gSC9JoF0Bds" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>  


  • 2014 - Joseph Pérez
  • 2013 - Saskia Sassen
  • 2012 - Martha C. Nussbaum
  • 2011 - Howard Gardner
  • 2010 - The Archeological Team of the Warriors of Xi’an
  • 2009 - David Attenborough
  • 2008 - Tzvetan Todorov  
  • 2007 - Ralf Dahrendorf
  • 2006 - Mary Robinson
  •  2005 - Giovanni Sartori
  • 2004 - Paul Krugman  
  • 2003 - Jürgen Habermas
  • 2002 - Anthony Giddens,
  • 2001 - El Colegio de México and Juan Iglesias Santos
  • 2000 - Carlo María Martini  
  • 1999 - Raymond Carr  
  • 1998 - Jacques Santer y Pierre Werner  
  • 1997 - Martín de Riquer y Morera
  • 1996 - John H. Elliott  
  • 1995 - Joaquim Veríssimo y Miquel Batllori
  • 1994 - Aurelio Menéndez  
  • 1993 - Silvio Zavala  
  • 1992 - Juan Velarde Fuertes  
  • 1991 - Miguel Artola Gallego  
  •  1990 - Rodrigo Uría González  
  •  1989 - Enrique Fuentes Quintana  
  • 1988 - Luis Díez del Corral y Luis Sánchez Agesta  
  • 1987 - Juan José Linz  
  •  1986 - José Luis Pinillos
  •  1985 - Ramón Carande Thovar  
  • 1984 - Eduardo García de Enterría
  • 1983 - Julio Caro Baroja  
  • 1982 - Antonio Domínguez Ortiz
  • 1981 - Román Perpiñá

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades