Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

You are in:

  1. Communication

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


277 candidatures from 62 countries have been nominated for the 2019 Princess of Asturias Awards

The deadline for submitting nominations closed yesterday, Thursday, 14th March 


Two hundred seventy seven nominations from 62 countries have been submitted for the Princess of Asturias Awards in this their 39th year.

The deadline for submitting nominations closed yesterday, Thursday, 14th March. Jury members and laureates from previous editions may submit their own proposals until six calendar days before the date of convening the jury corresponding.

Those who have submitted nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

Around 150 public figures expert in each of the fields will make up the eight Juries (one for each Award), the meetings of which will be held in April, May and June in Oviedo.

As is customary, the Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony will be held at the Campoamor Theatre in this same city in October and will be presided over by TM The King and Queen.

There are eight Princess of Asturias Awards: the Arts, Literature, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Technical and Scientific Research, International Cooperation, Concord and Sports. As stated in the Regulations governing their conferral, the awards are aimed at “those individuals and/or institutions that, through their work and merits in scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian fields, contribute to progress and social well-being in an extraordinary and exemplary way. The repercussions of this work should always be considered in the broadest sense; that is, its contribution to the field should be of international scope and/or be acknowledged at an international level.”

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades