Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Adam Zagajewski, Princess of Asturias Award for Literature

Polish essayist and poet Adam Zagajewski has been granted the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature, as made public today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.


Polish essayist and poet Adam Zagajewski has been granted the 2017 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature, as made public today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.

The Jury for the Award –convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by Darío Villanueva Prieto and composed of Félix de Azúa Comella, Xosé Ballesteros Rey, Xuan Bello Fernández, Blanca Berasátegui Garaizábal, Juan Cruz Ruiz, Luis Alberto de Cuenca y Prado, Álex Grijelmo García, Manuel Llorente Manchado, Carmen Millán Grajales, Ángeles Mora Fragoso, Carme Riera i Guilera, Ana Santos Aramburo, Sergio Vila-Sanjuán Robert, Juan Villoro Ruiz and José Luis García Delgado (as acting secretary).

This candidature was put forward by Princess of Asturias Laureates for Literature John Banville (2014) and Richard Ford (2016), and 2001 Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts Krzysztof Penderecki. It was seconded by, among others, Juan Ignacio Cirac, 2006 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research; Roy Glauber, 2005 Nobel Laureate in Physics; Adam Michnik, chief editor of Gazeta Wyborcza; and the Polish Cultural Institute (Madrid).

Adam Zagajewski (born June 1945, in Lwów, now Lviv, Ukraine) is a poet, novelist and essayist who graduated in Philosophy and Psychology from the Jagiellonian University, Krakow. One of the most famous contemporary Polish poets, he is considered one of the Generation of ’68 or New Wave, made up of writers committed to political engagement in their works. Zagajewski created two of the main slogans of this group: Powiedz prawde (Tell the truth) and Mow Wprost (Speak up). Successively exiled in Germany, Paris and the USA, he returned to Krakow in 2002, where he now lives. He is co-editor of the literary magazine Zeszyty literackie, published in Paris, and has been a visiting professor at the University of Houston, a position he currently holds at the University of Chicago.

In the 1970s, he joined the Krakow-based dissident group “Teraz” (Now). He published his first collection of poems, Komunikat, in 1972, which was followed by the novel Ciepło, zimno (Hot and Cold). He also propagated his ideas in the underground literary journal Zapis, one of the principal media of the Polish democratic opposition. He subsequently published Sklepy miesne (The Butcher’s). Persecuted by the communist regime, he was exiled in Paris in 1982 and published the novel Cienka kreska (The Thin Line) and the essay List. Oda do wielosci (A Letter. Ode to Plurality). Zagajewski expounded his thesis on the political commitment of writers in his following essay, Solidarnosc i samotnosc, 1986 (Solidarity, Solitude, 1990). In 1988, he travelled to the USA, where he worked as a visiting professor on the Creative Writing Program at the University of Houston.

In Plótno, 1990 (The Canvas), he evolved towards poetic contemplation, moving away from the protest poetry of his early works. He himself said about this change, “Poetry is somewhere else, beyond immediate partisan struggles, and even beyond rebellion –including the most justified rebellion– against tyranny.” It has been said of him that his resolute stance in defence of freedom and the search for beauty is faithfully reflected in his work, a work of great human depth and fine aesthetic sensibility. The critics have also highlighted the characteristic musicality and luminosity of his literary voice. The recurring themes in his work include the night, dreams, time, eternity, silence and death, as well as “the poetics of life’s imperfection”, as he has put it. For Zagajewski, poetry also has to combine “irony and ecstasy”, while the poet is someone who is “aware of history”.

His later works include the essay Dwa miasta, 1991 (Two Cities, 2002), the collections of poems Ziemia ognista, Trzej aniolowie, 1998 (Three Angels), Pragnienie, 1999 (Desire), Anteny, 2005 (Antenna), Niewidzialna reka, 2009 (Invisible Hand), described as “a wonder”, his memoir W cudzym pieknie, 1998 (Another Beauty, 2002) and the compilation of essays Obrona zarliwosci, 2002 (A Defense of Ardor, 2005). His latest work to be published in Spain is Releer a Rilke, 2017 (Re-reading Rilke).

Among other awards, he holds the Kościelski Foundation Literary Award (1975), the Tucholsky Award (1985), the French PEN Club Freedom Award (1987), the Neustadt International Prize for Literature (2004) and the Griffin Poetry Prize Jury Lifetime Recognition Award (2016). In 1999, he was elected a member of the Berlin Academy of Arts and in 2012 received an honorary degree from the Jagiellonian University, Krakow. He has also received the Bronze Cross of Merit (Poland) and the Official Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta.

This year a total of 38 candidatures, from 23 different countries, have been nominated for this award.

This is the sixth of eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, now in their thirty-seventh edition. The Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts went to South African artist William Kentridge, the Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities was granted to the comedy-musical group Les Luthiers, the Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation went to The Hispanic Society of America, the Princess of Asturias Award for Sports went to the New Zealand national rugby union team and the Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences went to British thinker and researcher Karen Armstrong. The remaining awards will be announced in the coming weeks in the following order: Technical and Scientific Research and Concord.

Each of the Princess of Asturias Awards comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolizing the Awards, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia. The awards will be presented in the autumn in Oviedo at a solemn ceremony chaired by TM The King and Queen of Spain.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades