Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Antonio Muñoz Molina, Annie Leibovitz, Saskia Sassen and Michael Haneke made speeches at the 2013 Prince of Asturias Awards Ceremony

The ceremony was held on 25th October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo.

2012 Prince of Asturias Awards Presentation Ceremony. ©FPA

The Spanish writer Antonio Muñoz Molina, Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, the US photographer Annie Leibovitz, Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities, the Dutch sociologist Saskia Sassen, Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, and the Austrian film director, screenwriter and playwright Michael Haneke, Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts, were the laureates responsible for giving speeches at the XXXIII Prince of Asturias Awards Ceremony.

The president of the Foundation, Matías Rodríguez Inciarte, and HRH The Prince of Asturias also spoke at the ceremony, which was held on 25th October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo.

The ceremony featured a simultaneous translation service in four languages for the entire theatre. The Foundation distributed 1,600 receivers among the public and attendees were able to hear speeches by the laureates in English, French and German, in addition to Spanish.

The ceremony was accessible to persons with hearing or visual impairment by means of its transmission in sign language via the Foundation website and with the implementation, for the first time, of a live audio description service and induction loop at the theatre.

The award to the Spanish Organization for the Blind (ONCE) was collected by its president, Miguel Carballeda, who was accompanied by Cristina Lucchese and the girl Liv Parlee Cantín.

The European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN), Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research jointly with the physicists Peter Higgs and François Englert, was represented in the ceremony by its director general, Rolf Heuer, who received the award on behalf of the organization.

The Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science, Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, was represented by its president, Peter Gruss, who was accompanied by the scientists Damián Refojo, Soojin Ryu, Ali Shahmoradi and Matthias Weiβenbacher.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades