Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


David Julius, 2010 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, wins the Nobel Prize in Medicine


Scientists David Julius has been awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine today, after his career was recognized with the 2010 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, along with Baruch Minke y Linda Watkins, on 2nd June 2010.

As stated in the Minutes of the Jury, he was granted the Princess of Asturias Award for “their innovative studies on pain. These three outstanding researchers in the field of Sensory Neurobiology have made findings that jointly enable a deeper understanding of the cellular and molecular bases of different sensations, especially that of pain. David Julius is a pioneer in the molecular analysis of nociceptors, having identified TRPV1 as the neuronal receptor of noxious stimuli (…). Their research has identified the molecular targets at which to aim a new generation of specific drugs for the selective treatment of different types of pain, especially chronic pain. This opens up promising avenues to ameliorate an ill that affects the quality of life of millions of people and which has always been one of the great challenges faced by medicine.”

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades