Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Ennio Morricone, Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts, has died

The Jury has bestowed the Award this year for “dazzling ability to cross genres and borders”


Ennio Morricone, awarded with the 2020 Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts together with John Williams, has died.

As stated in the Minutes of the Jury that conferred the Award, “the two recipients of the Award have enriched hundreds of films thanks to their talent. While Morricone built his reputation by putting European music to the American Wild West, Williams transferred the spirit of the Viennese symphonic tradition to Hollywood blockbusters. If there is one thing that the extensive, varied work of both composers has in common, it is their dazzling ability to cross genres and borders.”

The Jury was chaired by Miguel Zugaza Miranda and made up of José María Cano de Andrés, María de Corral López-Dóriga, Oliver Díaz Suá-rez, Dionisio González Romero, Sergio Gutiérrez Sánchez, Ricardo Martí Flu-xá, Fernando Masaveu Herrero, Joan Matabosch Grifoll, José María Pou Serra, Emilio Sagi Álvarez-Rayón, Benedetta Tagliabue, Patricia Urquiola Hidalgo, Aarón Zapico Braña and Catalina Luca de Tena y García-Conde, as acting secretary.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades