Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


John Banville, Avelino Corma, Joseph Pérez and Caddy Adzuba are to deliver speeches at the 2014 Prince of Asturias Awards Ceremony

The ceremony will be held on 24th October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo.

2013 Prince of Asturias Awards Presentation Ceremony. ©FPA

Irish writer John Banville, Prince of Asturias Award for Literature, Spanish chemist Avelino Corma, joint Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research together with Mark E. Davis and Galen D. Stucky, French historian Joseph Pérez, Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences, and Congolese journalist Caddy Adzuba, Prince of Asturias Award for Concord, will be the Laureates responsible for delivering speeches at the 34th edition of the Prince of Asturias Awards Ceremony.

The president of the Foundation, Matías Rodríguez Inciarte, and HM King Felipe VI will also speak at the ceremony, which is to be held on 24th October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo.

The ceremony will feature a simultaneous translation service in three languages for the entire theatre. The Foundation will distribute 1,600 receivers among the public and attendees will be able to hear speeches by the Laureates in English and French, in addition to Spanish.

The ceremony will be accessible to persons with hearing impairment by means of its transmission in sign language at the theatre and via the Foundation website. The theatre will also be provided with a hearing induction loop system.

Mary Wittenberg, president and CEO of the New York Road Runners and director of the New York City Marathon, and George Hirsch, chairman of the board of the New York Road Runners and member of the founding team of the New York City Marathon, will collect the award on behalf of the New York City Marathon, Prince of Asturias Award for Sports. They will be accompanied by Kenyan athlete Tegla Loroupe and Mexican runner Germán Silva, two-time winners of the New York Marathon.

The Fulbright Program, Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation, will be represented at the ceremony by Evan Ryan, Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs of the Government of the United States of America, who will be accompanied by the following former Fulbright scholars: Spaniard Félix González Herranz, strategic and technical leader of the Latin American and Caribbean Broadband Program at the Inter-American Development Bank and creator of the Spanish social entrepreneurship platform “Juntosalimos”; Russel Quiñones, from the USA, assistant teacher of English at IES Ciudad de Jaén secondary school and corps member of “Teach for America”, a non-profit organization dedicated to education in the most underprivileged areas of the United States; South African Nomsa Mazwai, founder and director of Emthonjeni Arts, a venue for artistic creation and former coordinator at the Nelson Mandela Institute; Dr Naim Sidrotun, from Indonesia, director of the Center for Sustainable Aquaculture and Pathology Studies at the University of Surya (Indonesia) and 2012 UNESCO Women in Science Laureate; and Pakistani Shehzad Hameed Ahmad, director of the documentary The Pakistan Four.


Twitter: @fpa

             Official hashtag: #PrinceAsturiasAwards

Facebook: www.facebook.com/fpa

YouTube: www.youtube.com/user/fpamultimedia

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades