Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


Lindsey Vonn, Princess of Asturias Award for Sports

Lindsey Vonn is the female skier with the most victories in the history of the Alpine Ski World Cup. With her 63rd podium in 2016, she broke the record held by Annemarie Moser-Pröll since the seventies 


Lindsey Vonn has been granted the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, as announced today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.

The Jury for the Award –convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by Abel Antón Rodrigo and composed of Alejandro Blanco Bravo, Vicente del Bosque González, Marquis of Del Bosque, Miguel Carballeda Piñeiro, María Paz Corominas Guerin, Alex Corretja Verdegay, Joaquín Folch-Rusiñol Corachán, Ernest Folch i Folch, Juan Ignacio Gallardo Tomé, Joan Llaneras Roselló, Sylvana Mestre Alexandre, Luis Nieto Tortuero, Santiago Nolla Zayas, Edurne Pasabán Lizarribar, Paloma del Río Cañadas, Sitapha Savané Sagna, Alberto Suárez Laso and Patricia García Rodríguez (as acting secretary).

This candidature was put forward by Theresa Zabell, President of Fundación Ecomar.

Lindsey Vonn (née Kildow) was born into a family of skiers in Saint Paul (Minnesota, USA) on 18th October 1984. She made her debut in this sport at the age of 7 and first competed in international competitions at the age of 9. At the age of 14, she was the first American to win the Topolino Trophy (Italy), subsequently winning her first victory in an official International Ski Federation competition in 2001. In the 2004-05 season, she came first in six World Cup competitions and made her debut in the World Championships. However, a major step forward in her career came when she joined the Red Bull Athletes Special Project, headed by Robert Trenkwalder, a coach who cooperated with the American alpine ski team She rose to acclaim in 2009 as dual world champion, winning both the downhill and super-G championships, as well as repeating as overall World Cup champion.

Lindsey Vonn is the female skier with the most victories in the history of the Alpine Ski World Cup. Her 63rd podium in 2016, broke the record held by Annemarie Moser-Pröll since the seventies. She has come first 82 times in this competition, just four off the record held by Swedish skier Ingemar Stenmark. An Olympic medal winner on three occasions –gold in downhill and bronze in super-G in the 2010 Vancouver Games, and bronze in downhill in the 2018 Games held in Pieonchang–, she has been world champion on two occasions in the specialties of downhill and super-G (2009), three times runner-up –in downhill (2007 and 2011) and super-G (2007)– and third in super-G (2015) and downhill (2017 and 2019). Overall World Cup Champion on four occasions (2008, 2009, 2010 and 2012), she has also won eight Downhill World Cups (between 2008 and 2013, and in 2015 and 2016), five super-G (between 2009 and 2012, and in 2015) and three combined (between 2010 and 2012).

She marked another milestone in her career at the beginning of the 2011-12 season with her victory in the giant slalom competition in the World Cup held in Sölden (Austria), which placed her among the small group of skiers with wins in all five disciplines. That same year she beat Renate Götschl’s record of 18 victories in super-G, becoming the female skier with the most wins in the World Cup and beating the record of points obtained by a skier in a single season, scoring 1,980. Following two irregular seasons due to injuries, she won her 7th Crystal Globe in downhill and her 5th in super-G in the 2015 World Cup. At the end of that year, she broke the record held by alpine skier Hermann Maier thanks to her 25th win in super-G. In 2016, she broke the women’s downhill record with her 38th podium and broke Stenmark’s record with her 20th World Cup Crystal Globe. In March 2016, while heading the world circuit, Vonn had to stop skiing due to injury. She made a comeback in the 2017-18 season and managed to win downhill competitions at four consecutive events, the last in Ǻre (Sweden), her 82nd victory. In 2019, once again in Ǻre, she won the bronze medal. She was the oldest woman to win a medal in the world championships, thus putting the finishing touches to her career, which ended when she was unable to overcome her physical problems.

Vonn established a foundation that bears her name in 2014 to promote the empowerment of young women. Among other distinctions, she has been distinguished with the 2010 US Olympic Committee award for Sportswoman of the Year, the Best Female Athlete Excellence in Sports Performance award (USA, 2010 and 2011) and two Laureus awards, namely 2010 Sportswoman of the Year and 2019 Spirit of Sport.

As stated in the Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Sports shall be aimed at recognizing “careers which, via the promotion, fostering and advancement of sport and sense of solidarity and commitment, have become an example of the benefits that practising sports can bring to people.”

This year, a total of 20 candidatures from 8 different countries were put forward for the award.

This is the fourth of eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, now in their thirty-ninth edition. The Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts went to British theatre director Peter Brook and the Princess of Asturias Awards for Communication and Humanities went to The Prado Museum (Museo Nacional del Prado) and the Princess of Asturias Award for International Cooperation was granted to Salman Khan and the Khan Academy.

The remaining awards will be announced in the coming weeks in the following order: Literature, Social Sciences, Technical and Scientific Research and Concord.

Each of the Princess of Asturias Awards comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolizing the Awards, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia. The awards will be presented in the autumn in Oviedo at a solemn ceremony chaired by TM the King and Queen of Spain.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades