Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The call for nominations for the 2020 Princess of Asturias Awards is now open

The Foundation has started to send out the Regulations governing the Awards

Nominations can now be submitted via the Foundation’s website  


The Princess of Asturias Foundation has now opened the Call for Nominations for the 2020 Princess of Asturias Awards. It has started to send out the publication containing the Call and the Regulations for the Awards, in what will now be their forty edition. The publication is already available on the Foundation’s website (www.fpa.es) in Spanish, English, French, German and Portuguese.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: laureates from previous years, others public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Also on the Internet

Nominations may be submitted by mail, at the institution’s head office and by email fpa@fpa.es(fpa@fpa.es). Abundant information about the institution, its history, activities, Laureates, etc., is also available in a number of different languages on the Foundation’s website.

Princess of Asturias Awards

There are eight Princess of Asturias Awards: the Arts, Social Sciences, Communication and Humanities, Concord, International Cooperation, Sports, Technical and Scientific Research and Literature. As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, they are aimed “at rewarding the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”.

The deadline for submitting nominations ends on 5th March 2020. Each Princess of Asturias Award has its own Jury, composed of specialists in the areas under consideration. The Jury for the Award for Concord consists mainly of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

The Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony is to be held in Oviedo, the capital of the Principality of Asturias, in the second fortnight of October. Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a cash prize of €50,000, a diploma and an insignia bearing the Foundation’s coat of arms.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades