Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord

37 nominations from 23 different nationalities are in the running for this award, the last of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXVIII edition 


The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2018 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord, the last of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on June 12th and 13th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXVIII edition in their history. Thirty-seven candidatures, from tweny-three different countries, have been nominated for this award. The meetings will be held at the Reconquista Hotel, Oviedo.

As stated in the Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord shall be aimed at recognizing “the work of defending and advancing human rights, as well as promoting and protecting peace, freedom, solidarity, world heritage and, in general, the progress of humanity.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

As usual, the Jury for the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord will be composed largely of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Deliberations will commence at 6:00pm on Tuesday, 12th June, in the hotel’s Salón Covadonga (Chapel), immediately after the taking of the official photo. The Jury’s decision will be made public at 12 noon the following day, Wednesday, in the same room. Following this, the members of the Jury may be interviewed.

This is the last of the eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, in what is now their XXXVIII edition. Previously, the Princess of Asturias of the Arts Award went to american filmmaker Martin Scorsese, the Award for Communication and Humanities to mexican journalist Alma Guillermoprieto, the Award for International Cooperation to Amref Health Africa, the Award for Sports to mountaineers Reinhold Messner (Italy) and Krzysztof Wielicki (Poland), the Award for Literature to french writer Fred Vargas, the Award for Social Sciences to american philosopher Michael J. Sandel and the Award for Technical and Scientific Research to swedish biologist Svante Pääbo.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es

Members of the jury

  • Íñigo Abarca Junco
  • Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda, Viscount of Castillo de Almansa
  • Ernesto Antolin Arribas
  • Antonio Basagoiti García-Tuñón
  • Santiago Bergareche Busquet
  • Carlos Casanueva Varas
  • Sol Daurella Comadrán
  • José Manuel Entrecanales Domecq
  • Isidro Fainé Casas
  • Ana Isabel Fernández Álvarez
  • Javier Fernández Fernández
  • Pedro Luis Fernández Pérez
  • José Antonio Fernández Rivero
  • Luis Fernández-Vega Sanz
  • Ignacio Garralda Ruiz de Velasco
  • Alicia Koplowitz Romero de Juséu, Marchioness of Bellavista
  • Wenceslao López Martínez
  • Laureano Lourido Artime
  • Teresa Mallada de Castro
  • César José Menéndez Claverol
  • José Oliu i Creus
  • María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo
  • Mariano Puig Planas
  • Helena Revoredo de Gut
  • Matías Rodríguez Inciarte
  • Pedro Sanjurjo González
  • Andreas Schierenbeck
  • Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez
  • Gonzalo Urquijo y Fernández de Araoz
  • Manuel Villa-Cellino Torre
  • Juan Miguel Villar Mir, Marquis of Villar Mir
  • Adolfo Menéndez Menéndez (acting secretary)

technical data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 87-60
  • Carrier: 9
  • Rx Frecuency: 11562 MHz  
  • Band: Ku  
  • Polarization: Horizontal  
  • Symbol Rate: 4.444 Megasímbolos/segundo  
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Carrier: Feed 1 TSA America
  • Rx Frecuency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498


Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S5dDskIOmdk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>  


End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades