Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord

34 nominations from 21 different nationalities are in the running for this award, the last of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, and which are now in their XXXIX edition 


The meetings of the jury responsible for awarding the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for Concord, the last of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on June 12th and 13th. The awards will be bestowed this year for the XXXIX edition in their history. Thirty-four candidatures, from twenty-one different countries, have been nominated for this award. The meetings will be held at the Reconquista Hotel in Oviedo.

As stated in the Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord shall be aimed at recognizing “he work of defending and advancing human rights, as well as promoting and protecting peace, freedom, solidarity, world heritage and, in general, the progress of humanity.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the accolade, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

As usual, the Jury for the Princess of Asturias Award for Concord will be composed largely of members of the Boards of Trustees of the Foundation.

Deliberations will commence at 6:00pm on Wednesday, 12th June, in the hotel’s Salón Covadonga (Chapel), immediately after the taking of the official photo. The Jury’s decision will be made public at 12 noon the following day, Thursday, in the same room. Following this, the members of the Jury may be interviewed.

This is the last of the eight Princess of Asturias Awards to be bestowed this year, in what is now their XXXIX edition. Previously, the Princess of Asturias of the Arts Award went to theatre director Peter Brook, the Award for Communication and Humanities to Prado Museum (Madrid), the Award for International Cooperation to mathematician and engineer Salman Khan and the Khan Academy, the Award for Sports to skier Lindsey Vonn, the Award for Literature to writer Siri Hustvedt, the Award for Social Sciences to sociologist Alejandro Portes and the Award for Technical and Scientific Research to plant biologists Joanne Chory and Sandra Myrna Díaz.

The reading of the jury’s decision will be transmitted via Hispasat satellite (America and Europe). In addition, there will be a live Internet broadcast at the Foundation's website: www.fpa.es/en

Jury composition

The jury will be made up of the following members:

  • Íñigo Abarca Junco
  • Fernando de Almansa Moreno-Barreda, Viscount of Castillo de Almansa
  • Antonio Basagoiti García-Tuñón
  • Antonio Brufau Niubó
  • José Antonio Caicoya Cores
  • Sol Daurella Comadrán
  • Isidro Fainé Casas
  • Ana Isabel Fernández Álvarez
  • Javier Fernández Fernández
  • Vicente Fernández Guerrero
  • José Antonio Fernández Rivero
  • Luis Fernández-Vega Sanz
  • Ignacio Garralda Ruiz de Velasco
  • Jaime Gorbeña Yllera
  • Alicia Koplowitz Romero de Juséu, Marchioness of Bellavista
  • Wenceslao López Martínez
  • Laureano Lourido Artime
  • César José Menéndez Claverol
  • Adolfo Menéndez Menéndez
  • José Oliu i Creus
  • María del Pino Calvo-Sotelo
  • Mariano Puig Planas
  • Gregorio Rabanal Martínez
  • Helena Revoredo de Gut
  • Gonzalo Sánchez Martínez
  • Pedro Sanjurjo González
  • Antonio Suárez Gutiérrez
  • Gonzalo Urquijo y Fernández de Araoz
  • Darío Vicario Ramírez
  • Manuel Villa-Cellino Torre
  • Juan-Miguel Villar Mir, Marquis of Villar Mir
  • Ignacio Ybarra Aznar
  • Pedro de Silva Cienfuegos-Jovellanos (acting secretary)

technical data

  • Satellite: Hispasat 1D
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 143
  • Channel: Feed 4 TSA
  • RX Frequency: 10890 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbols/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Coding: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9
  • Satellite: Hispasat 1E
  • Orbital position: 30º West
  • Transponder: 133
  • Channerl: Feed TSA
  • RX Frequency: 12052 MHz
  • Band: Ku
  • Polarization: Vertical
  • Symbol Rate: 27.500 MSymbosl/second
  • F.E.C.: 3/4
  • Codec: QPSK MPEG 2 DVBS
  • Norma: PAL
  • Format: 16:9

Phone: + 34 91 512 9450/ 9498


Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






<iframe width="640" height="360" xsrc="https://www.youtube.com/embed/hXfywLbw3LI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>  


End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades