Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The jury meeting for the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature

33 nominations encompassing 20 different nationalities are in the running for this Award, the fifth of eight international awards that are bestowed each year by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, which are now in their 41st edition


The meeting of the Jury responsible for awarding the 2021 Princess of Asturias Award for Literature, the fifth of eight international awards that will be bestowed by the Princess of Asturias Foundation, will be held on 9th June. The awards will be bestowed this year for the 41st time in their history. Thirty-three nominations encompassing twenty different nationalities, have been nominated for this award.

As an exceptional measure, the Jury meeting will be held via video conference due to the health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. The Jury’s acting secretary will be appointed by the Foundation, as established in the Regulations for the Awards. Furthermore, its chairperson will be the same as in the previous edition so as to facilitate the holding of the meeting, as approved by the institution’s Board of Trustees.

As stated in the Regulations, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Literature shall be aimed at recognizing “the work of fostering and advancing literary creation in all its genres.”

The Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolizing the accolade, a diploma, an insignia and a cash prize of €50,000.

The Jury’s decision will be announced at the end of the meeting that same Wednesday morning/early afternoon via a press release and on the Foundation’s website and social networks. A recording of the reading of the Minutes of the Jury by its chairperson will also be made available to the media via the Virtual Press Room.

Jury composition

The jury will be made up of the following members:

  • Santiago Muñoz Machado (acting president)
  • Fernando Rodríguez Lafuente (acting secretary)
  • Xuan Bello Fernández
  • Blanca Berasátegui Garaizábal
  • Anna Caballé Masforroll
  • Gonzalo Celorio Blasco
  • José Luis García Delgado
  • Jordi Gracia García
  • Lola Larumbe Doral
  • Antonio Lucas Herrero
  • Carmen Millán Grajales
  • Rosa Navarro Durán
  • Leonardo Padura Fuentes
  • Laura Revuelta Sanjurjo
  • Carmen Riera i Guilera
  • Iker Seisdedos García
  • Jaime Siles Ruiz
  • Diana Sorensen
  • Sergio Vila-Sanjuán Robert

Information of interest



Princess of Asturias Awards official hashtag: #PrincessAsturiasAwards






End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades