Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Premios Princesa de Asturias


The meetings of the juries responsible for granting the 2021 Princess of Asturias Awards will commence on 12th May

363 nominations had been submitted as of 4th March


Around 180 public figures will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first jury will meet this coming 12th May. This will be the forty-first edition of the Awards conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Due to the situation resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, the Jury meetings are planned to be held via videoconference, except in the case of the last meeting, the format of which will be decided upon based on the public health context.

Deliberations will follow the schedule outlined below:


  • Arts 12th May
  • Communication and Humanities 19th May
  • Social Sciences 26th May
  • Sports 2nd June
  • Literature 9th June
  • International Cooperation 16th June
  • Technical and Scientific Research 23rd June
  • Concord 29th and 30th June

As is customary, the presentation of the Princess of Asturias Awards will take place in October in a solemn ceremony presided over by TM The King and Queen, who in previous years have been accompanied by TRH The Princess of Asturias and Infanta Sofía of Spain.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia, and a cash prize of €50,000.

Nominations submitted

At the close of the nomination period, 4th March last, the Foundation’s offices had received three hundred and sixty-three nominations comprising 61 nationalities. Those submitting nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: Laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the Jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.ç

Laureates from previous years and Jury members that submit nominations may do so up until six calendar days prior to the date of convening the jury corresponding to the category for which such nominations are submitted.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades