Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The meetings of the juries responsible for granting the 2020 Princess of Asturias Awards will commence on 3rd June

 321 nominations had been submitted as of 5th March


Around 130 public figures will make up the eight Juries responsible for granting the Princess of Asturias Awards (one for each Award). The first jury will meet this coming 3rd June. This will be the fortieth edition of the Awards that are conferred annually by the Princess of Asturias Foundation.

Due to the health emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic, all of the meetings of the eight juries will take place in June and will be held via videoconference.

Deliberations will follow the schedule outlined below:


  • Concord 3rd June
  • Arts 5th June
  • Communication and Humanities 9th June
  • Social Sciences 11th June
  • Sports 16th June
  • Literature 18th June
  • Technical and Scientific Research 23rd June
  • International Cooperation 25th June

The Princess of Asturias Awards Ceremony traditionally takes place in October at the Campoamor Theatre in Oviedo, in a solemn event presided over by Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain.

Each Princess of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolising the Award, a diploma, an insignia, and a cash prize of €50,000.

Nominations submitted

At the close of the nomination period, 5th March last, the Foundation’s offices had received three hundred and twenty-one nominations from 64 nationalities. Those submitting nominations include prestigious universities, academic and cultural institutions, research centres of international scope, Spain’s ambassadors, representatives of the accredited diplomatic corps in Spain and laureates from previous years.

The Regulations establish that the following may submit nominations for the different Princess of Asturias Award categories: Laureates from previous editions, those public figures and institutions invited to do so by the Foundation, Spanish embassies, diplomatic representations in Spain, members of the eight Juries, provided they do not submit nominations for the Award in the category corresponding to the Jury of which they are a member, and other public figures and institutions of renown.

Laureates from previous years and Jury members that submit nominations may do so up until six calendar days prior to the date of convening the jury corresponding to the category for which such nominations are submitted.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades