Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The period for obtaining press/media credentials for the Prince of Asturias Awards, currently in their thirty-fourth edition, is now open

17th October is the registration deadline.


The 2014 Prince of Asturias Awards grand presentation ceremony is to be held on Friday 24th October at 6.30 pm. The venue for the event is Oviedo’s Campoamor Theatre. Journalists wishing to report or cover this event or any event programmed and organised for the week of the ceremony must register at the Prince of Asturias Foundation (Tel: +34 985 258 755 and fax: +34 985 242 104, or prensa@fpa.es and acreditaciones@fpa.es).

For security reasons, the name and surname, National Identity Card or passport number, place and date of birth of the person wishing to register and his or her job title (reporter, photographer or technician) must be provided. The limited space available at some of the venues may mean that access will only be allowed to a limited number of journalists and that press pools will be used. The deadline for registration is Friday 17th October.

The Office in the Hotel Barceló Oviedo Cervantes (calle Cervantes, n.º 13, 33004 Oviedo) will provide press files, copies of speeches, and information about upcoming events and late changes to the original programme during the whole week leading up to the Prince of Asturias Awards presentation ceremony.

The Press and Credentials Office provides telephone lines, fax machines, photocopiers and computers for the media. There is 60 Mbit high-speed broadband internet connection with WiFi or cable access available for journalists and graphic reporters, so portable equipment can be connected with ease.

Each Prince of Asturias Award comprises a Joan Miró sculpture, representing and symbolising the Awards, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia.


  • - The deadline for requesting interviews will end on 16th October (Thursday).
    - Mobile units can park on Calle Arquitecto Reguera from 22nd October on.



Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts

Frank O. Gehry

Prince of Asturias Award for Social Sciences

Joseph Pérez

Prince of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities

Joaquín S. Lavado Tejón, Quino

Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research

Avelino Corma

Mark E. Davis

Galen D. Stucky

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature

John Banville

Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation

Programa Fulbright

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports

The New York City Marathon

Prince of Asturias Award for Concord

Caddy Adzuba

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades