Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu

Start of main content

Princess of Asturias Awards


The Prado Museum, Madrid, Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities

Having become the most important cultural institution in Spain and one of the most outstanding art galleries worldwide, the Prado Museum possesses a collection of around 8000 paintings, of which 1700 are on show in the Villanueva building, while more than 3200 are distributed among 255 cultural institutions throughout Spain


The Prado Museum, Madrid, has been bestowed with the 2019 Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities, as announced today in Oviedo by the Jury responsible for conferring said Award.

The Jury for the Award –convened by the Princess of Asturias Foundation– was chaired by Víctor García de la Concha and composed of Luis María Anson Oliart, Alberto Edgardo Barbieri, César Bona García, Irene Cano Piquero, Alberto Corazón Climent, Aurora Egido Martínez, Taciana Fisac Badell, Elsa González Díaz de Ponga, Santiago González Suárez, Alan Goodman, Álex Grijelmo García, Miguel Ángel Liso Tejada, Rosa María Mateo Isasi and Óscar Loureda Lamas (as acting secretary).

This candidature was jointly put forward by Mario Vargas Llosa and Antonio Muñoz Molina, Prince of Asturias Laureates for Literature in 1986 and 2013, respectively; Norman Foster and Rafael Moneo, Prince of Asturias Laureates for the Arts in 2009 and 2012, respectively; Alberto Anaut, President of La Fábrica and of the Fundación Contemporánea, Luis Gordillo, Cristina Iglesias, Julio Llamazares, Gonzalo Suárez, Jaime Rosales, Aitana Sánchez-Gijón, Alberto García Alix, Chema Madoz, Pierre Gonnord, José Luis Gómez, Juan Barja and Javier Gomá.

The Prado Museum (Museo Nacional del Prado) was inaugurated in Madrid on 19th November 1819 as the Royal Museum of Paintings and Sculptures to house works from the royal collections, which had begun to take shape in the 16th century with Charles I of Spain and were enriched by all the monarchs who succeeded him. Soon changing its name to the National Museum of Painting and Sculpture, the museum had an initial collection of 311 paintings, as well as serving as a depository for 1510 other works from the so-called Royal Sites. The museum occupied the Cabinet of Natural Sciences, the work of Juan de Villanueva, in what was known as the Prado de los Jerónimos, for which reason it was popularly called the Prado Museum before receiving its official name at the beginning of the 20th century. Two hundred years after it opened, following several modifications and successive extensions, the Prado Museum continues to fulfil the noble mission of preserving, exhibiting and enriching all the collections and works of art that, closely linked to the history of Spain, constitute one of the highest manifestations of artistic expression of universally recognized value.

Having become the most important cultural institution in Spain and one of the most outstanding art galleries worldwide, the Prado Museum possesses a collection of around 8000 paintings, of which 1700 are on display in the Villanueva building, while more than 3200 are distributed among 255 cultural institutions throughout Spain. Each year, almost three million visitors –more than half of whom are foreigners– pass through its halls. These same halls have served as inspiration to some of the most important painters of the last 150 years, such as Fortuny, Sorolla, Picasso, Monet, Renoir, Durant and Chase.

The Prado is known more as a museum of painters than as a museum of paintings because of the uniqueness of its origins, dependent on royal patronage in the 16th and 17th centuries aimed at gathering as many works as possible from favoured artists. For this reason, the museum has the largest collections of Bosch, Titian, El Greco, Rubens, Velázquez and Goya, in some cases reaching a figure of more than a hundred works. The Bourbon dynasty saw the arrival of the French painters, in an 18th century that was dominated by foreign artists, such as the Italians, until the end of the century, when Goya re-established the pre-eminence of a Spanish artist in court circles. With the confiscation of ecclesiastical properties in the 19th century, acquisitions from the Museo de la Trinidad, which included La Fuente de la Gracia and Auto de fe presidido por santo Domingo de Guzmán, among other works, contributed to increasing the Prado’s collections, which were closed in 1881. Although eminently pictorial, the collections also include exceptional examples of sculpture, the decorative arts and works on paper, from antiquity right up to the 19th century.

Since its foundation, the Prado has acquired more than 2300 paintings, as well as a large number of sculptures, prints, drawings and other pieces through donations, such as Goya’s ‘Black Paintings’; bequests, such as Ramón de Errazu’s collection of 19th-century paintings; and purchases such as El Greco’s The Fable and The Flight into Egypt, Goya’s The Countess of Chinchón and Velázquez’s The Pope’s Barber. Among the most emblematic treasures that can be seen today in the Prado are The Garden of Delights by Hieronymus Bosch, El Greco’s Knight with his Hand on his Chest, Death of the Virgin by Mantegna, Charles V in Mühlberg by Titian, Tintoretto’s Christ Washing the Disciples’ Feet, Dürer’s Self-portrait, Las Meninas by Velázquez, The Three Graces by Rubens, Charles IV of Spain and His Family by Goya and The Execution of Torrijos and his Companions on the Beach at Malaga by Gisbert.

The current museum is made up of several buildings –the Villanueva building, the Claustro de los Jerónimos, the Casón del Buen Retiro, the administrative building on Calle Ruiz de Alarcón and the Salón de Reinos del Palacio del Buen Retiro– which together exceed 45 000 square metres of floorspace. As a public body, it is regulated by a specific law and is governed by a Board of Trustees chaired by the corresponding Minister of Culture and whose honorary presidents are Their Majesties The King and Queen of Spain.

As stated in the Statutes of the Foundation, the Princess of Asturias Awards are aimed at rewarding “the scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. In keeping with these principles, the Princess of Asturias Award for Communication and Humanities shall be aimed at recognizing “the work of fostering and advancing the sciences and disciplines considered humanistic activities or any activity related to social communication in any of its forms.”

This year, a total of 29 candidatures from 14 different countries were put forward for the award.

This is the second of eight Princess of Asturias Awards, to be bestowed this year for the thirty-ninth time. The Princess of Asturias Award for the Arts went to British theatre director Peter Brook. The rest of awards will be announced in the coming weeks in the following order: International Cooperation, Sports, Literature, Social Sciences, Technical and Scientific Research and Concord.

Each of the Princess of Asturias Awards comprises a Joan Miró sculpture representing and symbolizing the Awards, a cash prize of 50,000 euros, a diploma and an insignia. The awards will be presented in the autumn in Oviedo at a solemn ceremony chaired by TM The King and Queen of Spain.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades