Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Antonio López García

Prince of Asturias Award for the Arts 1985

The members of the Jury for the 1985 Prince of Asturias Award for Arts, María de Ávila, Antón Ayestarán, Fernando Fernán Gómez, Julio López Hernández, Felipe Mellizo, Pilar Miró, Antonio Pedrol Ríus, Federico Sopeña, gathered in Oviedo on the 30th and 31st of May, 1985, under the presidency of Fernando Chueca Goitia and with José Luís Yuste acting as secretary, have decided by majority to grant this award to Antonio López García, in recognition of his mastery in the exercise of visual arts; his capacity for reconciling the realist tradition of Spanish art with the problems of contemporary mankind; and his poetic perception of reality. The Jury wished to reward his painstaking, reflective work, a testimony to the artist´s wonder in the face of life.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades