Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Carlos Bousoño

Prince of Asturias Award for Literature 1995

The Jury for the 1995 Prince of Asturias Award for Letters, comprising Luis Maria Anson, Carmen Bobes, Pedro Casals, Antonio Colinas, Juan Cruz, Carlos Fuentes, Victor García de la Concha, Valentín García Yebra, Fernando G. Delgado, and Elvira Huelbes, gathered in Oviedo under the presidency of Fernando Lázaro Carreter and with José María Martínez-Cachero acting as secretary, have agreed by majority to grant the 1995 Prince of Asturias Award to Carlos Bousoño Prieto.

An outstanding representative of the first generation of post-war Spanish poetry, Carlos Bousoño is an example of creative development characterised by profound existentialist concerns. He has also done important work on criticism in the theory of poetic expression, the study of symbolism and the meaning of literary epochs. Bousoño has always been a bridge between different generations of writers. From a position of fine sensitivity, he has always encouraged the youngest Spanish poetry. His books have had a considerable impact in the university world of recent decades.

Oviedo, 28th April 1995.

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades