Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Mário Soares

Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation 1995

The Jury for the 1995 Prince of Asturias Award for International Co-operation, comprising Leopoldo Calvo Sotelo, Humberto de la Calle Lombana, Ricardo Díez Hochleitner, Jordi García Candau, Antonio Garrigues Walker, Manuel Marín, Fernando Morán, Marcelino Oreja, Guillermo Perinat, Yago Pico de Coaña, Manuel Ponga Santamarta, and Nicolás Sartorius, gathered in Oviedo under the presidency of Gustavo Suárez Pertierra, and with Teodoro López-Cuesta acting as secretary, have agreed to grant the 1995 Prince of Asturias Award for International Co-operation to His Excellency Mario Soares, President of the Portuguese Republic, for his extraordinary and constant labours during all his long political life in the field of international co-operation, in such decisive aspects as the overseas colonisation process; the subsequent re-establishment of fraternal links between Portuguese-speaking countries; his decisive activity in the development of the European Union; his consolidation of Portugal's role within the Latin-American Community of Nations; as well as his constant efforts to clarify and tighten the links between Portugal and Spain.

Oviedo, 30th August 1995

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades