Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Valentín Fuster Carulla

Prince of Asturias Award for Technical & Scientific Research 1996

The members of the Jury for the 1996 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, Mr. José Luis Álvarez Margaride, Mr. Manuel Cardona, Mr. Antonio Cueto Espinar, Mr. Albert Dou i MasdeXeixás, Mr. Antonio Fernández-Rañada y Menéndez de Luarca, Mr. Amable Liñán Martínez, Mr. Juan Oró, Mr. Manuel Elkin Patarroyo, Mr. Julio Rodríguez Fernández, Mr. Enrique Rojas Hidalgo, Mr. José Antonio Torroja Cavanillas, Mr. Manuel Valdivia Ureña, gathered in Oviedo under the presidency of Mr. Julio Rodríguez-Villanueva and with Mr. José Antonio Martínez Álvarez acting as secretary, have unanimously agreed to grant the 1996 Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Reasearch Research to Dr. Valentín Fuster de Carulla for his relevant contributions to biomedicine, especially in the cardiovascular field, which has given rise to the elucidation of acute ischemic pathology.

Dr. Fuster´s education and extensive clinical and investigative activity in various Centres in the United States (the Universities of Harvard, Mount Sinai Hospital, etc.) have contributed to the development of new lines in cardiological research. These findings have had great repercussions in an area which is the primary cause of death in the western world.

Oviedo, 31st May 1996

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades