Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

José María Olazábal Manterola

Prince of Asturias Award for Sports 2013

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports, made up of Mr José María Abad Casamayor, Mr David Álvarez González, Mr Abel Antón Rodrigo, Mr Óscar Campillo Madrigal, Ms Marisol Casado Estupiñán, Mr Josep María Casanovas i Punti, Mr Enrique Castro González “Quini”, Mr Joaquín Folch-Rusiñol Corachán, Mr Jorge Garbajosa Chaparro, Ms María del Carmen Izquierdo Vergara, Mr Javier Muñoz Gallego, Mr Santiago Nolla Zayas, Mr José Perurena López, Mr Julián Redondo Pérez, Ms María Escario, chaired by Ms Arancha Sánchez-Vicario Santacana and with Mr Josep Lluis Vilaseca i Guasch acting as secretary, has decided to confer the 2013 Prince of Asturias Award for Sports on José María Olazábal, one of the greatest golfers in history, winner of two Augusta Masters and four Ryder Cups, a competition in which he also demonstrated his leadership ability when captaining the European team to an epic comeback in 2012.

Worthy successor to the spirit of the legendary Severiano Ballesteros, the jury has taken into account the commendable capacity to go even further that Olazábal has shown throughout his long and brilliant career, along with his competitive spirit and qualities as a human being admired by all.

Oviedo, 19th June 2013

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades