Jump Main Menu. Go directly to the main content (Acces key S)

We use our own and third-party cookies to improve our services. If you continue to browse, we will assume that you consent to their use. You can obtain further information, or learn how to change the settings, in our cookies policy.

The Princess of Asturias Foundation

Sección de idiomas

Fin de la sección de idiomas


Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades

Start of Secondary Menu End of Secondary Menu


Start of main content

Pau and Marc Gasol Sáez

Princess of Asturias Award for Sports 2015

At its meeting in Oviedo, the Jury for the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports, composed of Jesús Álvarez Cervantes, Alejandro Blanco Bravo, Miriam Blasco Soto, Óscar Campillo Madrigal, Miguel Carballeda Piñeiro, Marisol Casado Estupiñán, José María Casanovas i Punti, Joaquín Folch-Rusiñol Corachán, Jorge Garbajosa Chaparro, José López-Terradas Díaz, Gemma Mengual Civil, Javier Muñoz Gallego, Santiago Nolla Zayas, María Rodríguez Escario, Eduardo Roldán Oses, Juan Antonio Samaranch Salisachs, Amaya Valdemoro Madariaga, Josep Lluís Vilaseca i Guasch, Theresa Zabell Lucas, chaired by Abel Antón Rodrigo and with Julián Redondo Pérez acting as secretary, has decided to grant the 2015 Princess of Asturias Award for Sports on Pau and Marc Gasol, two brothers and extraordinary sportsmen who have combined major sporting achievements with exemplary social work.

In addition to their major triumphs with the Spanish team, both starred in a historical image in which two brothers faced each other for the first time ever in the NBA in the opening tipoff of the 2015All-Star Game, symbolizing that they have reached the top in the most competitive basketball league in the world.

Oviedo, 3rd June 2015

End of main content

Sección de utilidades

Fin de la sección de utilidades